No. The Home Plate Umpire, the Catcher, and the Batters are in foul territory, because they are all positioned behind the foul lines.
Fair
If the ball landed behind home plate, it is already a foul ball, even if it rolls back into fair territory. If the batter already has 2 strikes and then the ball is bunted foul, it's an out. The above answer is wrong. If a batted ball lands behind home plate but rolls forward and settles on the plate or in front of the plate, it is a fair ball.
Fair or Foul TerritoryIn MLB, home plate is part of fair territory. The foul lines start at the back of the plate. All bases are fair territory.
If the umpire is in fair territory, it is a fair ball and all the runner(s) can get, as the Umpire is considered part of the playing field. If he is in foul territory, then it is a foul ball.
home plate is fair territory
fair
Home plate is considered in fair territory. If the ball hits home plate and rolls into foul territory, the ball is foul. If the ball hits home plate and rolls into fair territory, the ball is fair.
Home plate is in fair territory.
The answer to this lies in the definitions listed in Rule 2 of the MLB rule book. FAIR TERRITORY is that part of the playing field within, and including the first base and third base lines, from home base to the bottom of the playing field fence and perpendicularly upwards. All foul lines are in fair territory. A FOUL BALL is a batted ball that settles on foul territory between home and first base, or between home and third base, or that bounds past first or third base on or over foul territory, or that first falls on foul territory beyond first or third base, or that, while on or over foul territory, touches the person of an umpire or player, or any object foreign to the natural ground. From these you will gather that home plate is entirely within fair territory so a ball hitting home plate is still "fair". However, if the "you" in this example is the batter, catcher or umpire and the part of their bodies that the ball touches in on or over foul territory, the ball becomes foul at that point and remains foul no matter what happens afterward. If, however, in the umpire's judgement, the contact is made on or over fair territory, and the ball remains in fair territory, the ball would be fair. In addition, if the umpire determine that the bass is fair, and the "you" is the batter, then the batter would be out.
The answer to this lies in the definition of a foul ball listed in Rule 2 of the MBL rule book. A FOUL BALL is a batted ball that settles on foul territory between home and first base, or between home and third base, or that bounds past first or third base on or over foul territory, or that first falls on foul territory beyond first or third base, or that, while on or over foul territory, touches the person of an umpire or player, or any object foreign to the natural ground. The operatve word here is "settled". A ball is not considered to be foul until it touches something in foul territory like a player or umpire or fence, or until it has settled. So if in your example, all the ball touched behind the plate was dirt and then it bounces out and settles in fair territory, that is a fair ball.
if the umpire is inside the base path, then it is a dead ball... no pitch --- if the umpire is outside the base paths then it is a live ball
Home plate is considered fair territory so the ball would be fair.