answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If there is a runner on first base and less than 2 outs, and on the third strike to the batter the catcher misses the ball entirely, the batter is still out and the catcher is credited with the putout.

If a runner is one first base with less then 2 outs, a missed 3rd strike is not officially recorded as a putout by the catcher as there is nowhere for the runner to go as the batter cannot advance in this situation. The only time a catcher or any other position player can get a put out without touching the ball is in the case of runner-interference -

- i.e. The batter pops up a ball a runner (either the batter or a guy from 3rd) runs into the catcher, not allowing him a chance to make a play on the ball -- the runner would be called out and the catcher would be credited with the out) -- another scenerio would be a bunt or swinging bunt where the batter makes contact with the ball in fair territory (not in batters box) -- this would be a batted ball touched by a base runner in fair territory -- the batter would be out, with the recorded out going to the closest position player (in this scenerio, that would be the catcher)

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-10 20:14:26
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When an a catcher get credit for a putout without touching the ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Is a pitcher or catcher credited with a putout on a strikeout?

The catcher gets the putout.


Do catchers get put outs for strikeouts?

Yes. A catcher gets credited with the putout on a strikeout if the ball is caught cleanly. In the event of a dropped third strike, if the catcher tags the hitter, he again gets credited with the putout. If the third strike is dropped and the catcher must throw down to first, the catcher gets credited with an assist and the first baseman gets credited with the putout. In no case would the pitcher get credit for the putout or assist. Source: MLB Official Rule 10.09b


Is a catcher and pitcher get credited with a putout on a strikeout?

A strikeout is a pitching statistic. The pitcher is credited with a strikeout under his or her pitching stats. A putout is a fielding statistic for defense. The catcher is credited with the putout under his or her fielding stats.


Who gets credit for putout when a bunted ball hits the batter?

MLB Rule 10.09b-4 is pretty unambiguous: The official scorer shall credit an automatic putout to the catcher when a: ... (4) batter is called out for being touched by his own batted ball;


Does a strikeout count as a put out in softball?

A putout is a fielding statistic. In the case of a strikeout, the putout is credited to the catcher.


What is a put out in baseball?

A putout in baseball is the person who has the ball when the out is made. example: on a strike out the putout goes to the catcher on a ground out to the 1st baseman the 1st baseman gets the putout on a flyout the one who catches the ball gets the putout


Does a pitcher get credit for a strikeout if a runner gets to first base via the third strike drop rule?

Yes. If the runner reaches first base, it is usually due to an error on the catcher's part, so the scoring is 'K' for strikeout but 'E2' for the catcher dropping the ball. If the catcher recovers in time, then again the 'K' for strikeout is accompanied by '2-3' for the actual putout at first base.


In softball who gets a putout for a strikeout?

The pitcher is credited with a strikeout. The catcher is credited with the putout, unless the batter-runner has to be retired at first base with a throw from the catcher. In that case, the catcher would get an assist and the base man covering first would get the putout.Source(s):Senior League Baseball World Series information director; Official Baseball Rules: 10.09(b)(1), 10.10(b)(1), 10.15(a)


Who is credited with a put out when a batters is called out for hitting a pitch while out of the batters box?

In general, if a player is called out, but not due to a fielder touching the ball, then the fielder closest to the ball at that time gets credit for the putout. This includes when a batter bats in an illegal manner -- even when he bats out of order.


If a catcher is credited with a putout on a strikeout does the pitcher get an assist as most stat programs do not give assists in this instance?

The pitcher does not get an assist unless the batter strikes out and the ball bounces to the pitcher, who throws the ball to the catcher, who tags out the runner.


Who gets credit for making the out when a batter is out of order?

By MLB rule, the fielders that made the putout/assist on the incorrect batter shall be given the putout/assist for the correct batter. If the incorrect batter reaches base, the putout is given to the catcher. MLB Rule 10.3(d) states ... "When a player bats out of turn and is put out, and the proper batter is called out before the ball is pitched to the next batter, the official scorer shall charge the proper batter with a time at bat and score the putout and any assists the same as if the correct batting order had been followed. If an improper batter becomes a runner and the proper batter is called out for having missed his turn at bat, the official scorer shall charge the proper batter with a time at bat, credit the putout to the catcher and ignore everything entering into the improper batter's safe arrival on base. If more than one batter bats out of turn in succession, the official scorer shall score all plays just as they occur, skipping the turn at bat of the player or players who first missed batting in the proper order."


Can a catcher get an assist on a drop third strike?

yes...if he cannot place a tag on the batter, he can then make the throw to first base, thus the putout is 2-3.


Has a MLB catcher ever had 3 unassisted put outs in an inning?

I just saw a dribbler in front of the plate caught by the catcher who tagged the batter who hoped the ball would go foul. That was an unassisted putout. I wonder how often it happens but it doesn't seem rare.


How do you mark an out in the scorebook if the batter is hit with the ball out of the batters box?

It is an unassisted putout given credit to the nearest fielder and the hitter is given a single when a batted ball in play hits a runner -- in this instance since the batter is the runner hit he would not get a single and since it is just out of the batters box it would just be recorded as G-2 -- or Ground-out to Catcher, whichever is your shortcut of choice for marking that


If a batter bunts and runs into the ball how is it scored?

It would be scored as an out and the credit would go to the catcher, since he is the closest player to play. ANSWER: It depends upon whether the ball was contacted in fair or foul territory when contacted by the runner. In fair territory the runner is out, play is dead (runners can't advance), and the catcher is credited with the putout. In foul territory, it depends on the count. With two strikes the batter is out, and the pitcher is credited with a strikeout. With less than two strikes, it is treated as a strike.


If a batter bunts a third strike foul and the ball is caught by the catcher is it a fly out or a strike out?

It is a fly out. According to baseball rule 10.15 (a) (4) The pitcher is credited with a strikeout on a 3rd-strike foul bunt, unless "(4)... unless such bunt on third strike results in a foul fly caught by any fielder, in which case the official scorer shall not score a strikeout and shall credit the fielder who catches such foul fly with a putout."


Is dropped third strike by catcher scored a put out?

No, it is just recorded as a strikeoutYES ... It's scored a strikeout and a 2-3 put out ...Correction:Strikeouts are credited as putouts by the catcher According to Rule 10.09(b)(2)According to Rule 10.15(a)(2&3) a strike out is credited when a 3rd strike is dropped, thus, I suppose it would be a putout technically, however, it would not go down as 2-3 (this would give the putout to the 1st basemen)


What were the fielding stats for baseball player John O'Connell playing at catcher for the Pittsburgh Pirates in 1928?

John O'Connell played in just one game at catcher for the Pittsburgh Pirates in 1928 and did not start. He made one putout, had 2 assists, and committed no errors, equivalent to 0 errors per game (estimate based on total games played in). He had no double plays.


What were the fielding stats for baseball player Earl Williams playing at catcher for the Boston Braves in 1928?

Earl Williams played in just one game at catcher for the Boston Braves in 1928 and did not start. He made one putout, had no assists, and committed no errors, equivalent to 0 errors per game (estimate based on total games played in). He had no double plays.


What were the fielding stats for baseball player George Susce playing at catcher for the Detroit Tigers in 1932?

George Susce played in 2 games at catcher for the Detroit Tigers in 1932, starting in none of them. He made one putout, had no assists, and committed no errors, equivalent to 0 errors per game (estimate based on total games played in). He had no double plays.


What were the fielding stats for baseball player John Butler playing at catcher for the Brooklyn Superbas in 1906?

John Butler played in just one game at catcher for the Brooklyn Superbas in 1906 and did not start. He made one putout, had one assist, and committed no errors, equivalent to 0 errors per game (estimate based on total games played in). He had no double plays.


What were the fielding stats for baseball player Oscar Stanage playing at catcher for the Cincinnati Reds in 1906?

Oscar Stanage played in just one game at catcher for the Cincinnati Reds in 1906 and did not start. He made one putout, had no assists, and committed no errors, equivalent to 0 errors per game (estimate based on total games played in). He had no double plays.


What were the fielding stats for baseball player John Sullivan playing at catcher for the Pittsburgh Pirates in 1908?

John Sullivan played in just one game at catcher for the Pittsburgh Pirates in 1908 and did not start. He made one putout, had one assist, and committed no errors, equivalent to 0 errors per game (estimate based on total games played in). He had no double plays.


What were the fielding stats for baseball player Ed McDonough playing at catcher for the Philadelphia Phillies in 1909?

Ed McDonough played in just one game at catcher for the Philadelphia Phillies in 1909 and did not start. He made one putout, had one assist, and committed no errors, equivalent to 0 errors per game (estimate based on total games played in). He had no double plays.


What were the fielding stats for baseball player Rowdy Elliott playing at catcher for the Boston Doves in 1910?

Rowdy Elliott played in just one game at catcher for the Boston Doves in 1910 and did not start. He made one putout, had no assists, and committed no errors, equivalent to 0 errors per game (estimate based on total games played in). He had no double plays.