answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

By MLB rule, the fielders that made the putout/assist on the incorrect batter shall be given the putout/assist for the correct batter. If the incorrect batter reaches base, the putout is given to the catcher.

MLB Rule 10.3(d) states ...

"When a player bats out of turn and is put out, and the proper batter is called out before the ball is pitched to the next batter, the official scorer shall charge the proper batter with a time at bat and score the putout and any assists the same as if the correct batting order had been followed. If an improper batter becomes a runner and the proper batter is called out for having missed his turn at bat, the official scorer shall charge the proper batter with a time at bat, credit the putout to the catcher and ignore everything entering into the improper batter's safe arrival on base. If more than one batter bats out of turn in succession, the official scorer shall score all plays just as they occur, skipping the turn at bat of the player or players who first missed batting in the proper order."

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-03-27 03:41:49
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Who gets credit for making the out when a batter is out of order?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

In baseball when a batter strikeouts who gets credit for the out The pitcher or catcher?

The catcher since (s)he needs to control the ball in order for the out to be recorded.


First batter gets on via error question if the next player up knocks him in does this batter get credit for an RBI and does the first guy get credit for the run scored?

Yes they get the credit


If a baserunner scores as a result of a dropped third strike does the batter get credit for a run batted in?

Yes, any time a runner scores, the last person in the batter's box gets credit for the RBI. Even if he gets walked with the bases loaded he gets the credit for an RBI, even though in both of these cases he didn't hit the ball.


Runner on second is hit by the batted ball while running to third. How is this recorded?

dead ball, the runner is out and the putout goes to the closest fielder...the batter gets credit for a hit and if there are other runners that are forced to advance by the batter getting first (in this case, a runner on first), he gets to advance also...if there are 2 outs, the batter still gets credit for a hit but the inning is over


Does the credit of the cosigner gets affected if car is not paid?

Oh yes it does. That person put their credit on the line when they signed the contract making me a cosigner.


Who gets credit for putout when a bunted ball hits the batter?

MLB Rule 10.09b-4 is pretty unambiguous: The official scorer shall credit an automatic putout to the catcher when a: ... (4) batter is called out for being touched by his own batted ball;


A hit that gets the batter to first base safely?

A hit


In fastpitch softball if a courtesy runner ends up scoring who is credited with the run the original batter or the courtesy runner?

The hitter gets an RBI ( run batted in) but the runner gets the credit


What is counted as a hit in baseball?

If the batter puts the ball in play, and reaches base without an error being made by the defense, nor is it ruled a fielder's choice, the batter gets credit for a hit.


When does a reposession affect your credit score?

it will be on there as soon as the order gets sent to the repo company, they are the collection agency. after they repo ur car and it gets sold at auction ur credit score will change .


Does a batter receive a hit for a reached on error?

No. He hasn't earned being on base by safely hitting the ball so he gets no credit for a hit.


Is the batter out if the pitcher accidentally hits the ball to the batter?

No when the batter gets hit by the ball it is called and walk and the batter gets to go to first base

People also asked