answersLogoWhite

0

Yes. A catcher gets credited with the putout on a strikeout if the ball is caught cleanly. In the event of a dropped third strike, if the catcher tags the hitter, he again gets credited with the putout. If the third strike is dropped and the catcher must throw down to first, the catcher gets credited with an assist and the first baseman gets credited with the putout. In no case would the pitcher get credit for the putout or assist.

Source: MLB Official Rule 10.09b

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

TaigaTaiga
Every great hero faces trials, and you—yes, YOU—are no exception!
Chat with Taiga
LaoLao
The path is yours to walk; I am only here to hold up a mirror.
Chat with Lao
RafaRafa
There's no fun in playing it safe. Why not try something a little unhinged?
Chat with Rafa
More answers

1. Strikeouts

2. popups caught by the catcher

3. tag outs of o runner (most of which occur at home plate)

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
User Avatar

Yes, for the catcher

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does a strikeout count as a put out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp