answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If a fielder catches a ball and falls into the stands, it is a dead ball and all runners advance one base. Rule 704(c) The fielder made a legal catch. At that point the batter was out. The fielder then took the ball out of play. At that point the runners were allowed to advance one base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-04-18 00:51:30
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When a fielder catches a ball and falls into the stands is it a foul ball or an out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If a fielder catches a fly ball and falls over the center field fence can the runners advance?

If he catches the ball, the fielder's position doesn't matter.


Is it a home run if ball is caught and the fielder falls into stands?

If he drops it yes


What if a fielder catches a ball but loses his glove and the ball stays in the glove?

If the glove or mitt falls off in the process of catching the ball, it is not a legal catch. The fielder must have control of the ball in the glove and then remove it himself.


What happens to base runners when a defensive player catches a ball in foul territory and his momentum carries him to out of bounds?

If the fielder falls into the stands or the dugout after catching the foul, the ball is dead and runners are awarded base from the base they occupied at the time of the pitch.


If another fielder catches a fly ball after striking the first fielder is it an out?

As long as the ball does not touch the ground or a wall, the batter is called out.


Is a batted fly ball caught is a put out?

Yes, for the fielder who catches it


If a player is the dead ball area and reaches into foul territory and catches the foul ball is the batter out?

A batter is out anytime a fielder catches a foul fly ball.


If a fielder catches a fly ball beyond the fence is it a home run?

Yes.


What happens if a fielder catches a batted ball with his cap?

hitter is awarded 3 bases


What is the ruling if a fielder throws his mitt up into the air and the ball falls into the mitt and he catches the mitt with the ball in it?

It is scored as a triple Really, no he caught the ball so obviously he got him out First answer is correct, batter is awarded three bases.


What is in a cricket keeper?

I think you mean wicket keeper. He is a fielder that stands behind the wickets with a pair of gloves in cricket. He can stump people and catches the ball when it goes past the batsman


Is it an out if the defensive player catches the ball then drops his glove but the ball remains in the glove?

No, the glove is considered an extension of the fielder's hand so if the glove comes off the fielder is deemed to have dropped the ball.

People also asked