answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

To my understanding, either way. But the net result is that the lead runner is out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-06-10 09:29:25
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: The runner at 1st does not run and now the batter and runner are standing at 1st base. Does the 1st baseman have to tag the runners or by touching 1st base is the runner out that did not attempt torun?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

When bases are loaded ball is hit on ground to first baseman who tags runner out then throws home all runners go back to previous bases are runners all safe?

Yes. If the first baseman tags out the batter on his way to first, the three existing runners can return to their original bases; none can be "forced out."


When a runner is thrown out at 1st base and no other runners are on base Where does the 1st baseman throw the ball?

I believe he throws it back to the Pitcher.


If a baseball gets stuck in the runners shirt due to a tag attempt what happens?

your out


Can runners advance on a fly out with bases loaded?

Runners can attempt to advance on a fly out, provided that they tag up (touch the bade they are currently on after the ball is caught).


Is a first baseman in play if he has one foot in the field of play and one foot in foul territory?

If a first baseman has one foot in bound and one foot out of bound that is known as a fielders balk..runners can advance one base if this occurs and called on


If a fielder catches a foul ball can the runners tag up?

Yes. Runners may tag up and attempt to advance on any fly ball, fair or foul.


When was the first triple play in MLB?

The first recorded triple play was by the Hartford Dark Blues on May 13, 1876 in a game against the New York Mutuals. With runners on first and second the Mutuals tried a hit and run. The batter hit a hard line drive to the second baseman who caught the ball for out #1. The second baseman threw to the first baseman to double off the runner for out #2. The first baseman then threw back to the second baseman to catch the runner off second base for out #3.


Bases loaded ball hits runner standing on third base What is the call?

Assuming you mean a batted ball? The answer depends on where the runner on third is standing. If the runner is standing in foul territory, it is ruled a foul ball. If the runner is touching third base or leading off in fair territory and the ball hits him, then he is ruled out and the ball is dead. It is recorded as a putout by the third baseman. The batter is awarded first base, and other runners forced to advance will do so, so the runner on first is awarded second base, and the runner on second is awarded third base. If the infield-fly rule is in effect and the ball hits the runner on third, he is safe and the batter is out, provided the runner is touching third base. A runner on third should always lead off in foul territory to avoid these situations which would rule him out.


Bases loaded Batter hits a weak grounder towards first Pitcher picks up the ball and throws to the 1st baseman who tags runner Runner from first base never runs What is the call?

From major league rulebook:7.03(a) Two runners may not occupy a base, but if, while the ball is alive, two runners are touching a base, the following runner shall be out when tagged and the preceding runner is entitled to the base, unless Rule 7.03(b) applies.(b) If a runner is forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner and two runners are touching a base to which the following runner is forced, the following runner is entitled to the base and the preceding runner shall be out when tagged or when a fielder possesses the ball and touches the base to which such preceding runner is forced.


With runners on 1st and 2nd no one out batter hits the ball to third the third baseman tags the base then throws to 2nd is it a force play or do you have to tag the runner?

If it was a ground ball, then it would be a force out.


What happens when two runners occupy a base and both are tagged out?

According to MLB Rule 7.03: " Two runners may not occupy a base, but if, while the ball is alive, two runners are touching a base, the following runner shall be out when tagged. The preceding runner is entitled to the base. " If two runners are on a base and both are tagged, the runner that got to the base first is safe and the runner that got to the base second is out.


What is it called when three runners get out in one play?

The rare act of making three outs in one continuous play is called a triple play. There are many ways a triple play can be performed; most of them are done with runners on first and second base. Typically, a ball hit to the shortstop or third baseman is fielded, the runner heading to third is forced out or tagged out, the ball is thrown to second base for a force play, and then finally to first to throw out the batter. Another common sequence (to the extent such plays can be called common) is a line drive to the shortstop or second baseman that is caught without the runners noticing or after they have taken large leads (as in the case of a hit and run), the runners then being forced or tagged out when they fail to tag up.

People also asked