answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Runners can attempt to advance on a fly out, provided that they tag up (touch the bade they are currently on after the ball is caught).

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-08-09 14:42:56
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can runners advance on a fly out with bases loaded?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

When does the infield fly rule apply?

The infield fly rule is in effect when there are runners on first and second or bases are loaded with less than 2 outs.


Can runners advance during the infield fly rule?

Yes, runners may advance at their own risk.


What happens to the runners on an infield fly?

The umpire will call "infield fly, the batter is out." This applies whether or not the ball is actually caught. The runners can return to their bases at no risk to being out. If the do wish, they can choose to try to advance a base, but this is at their own risk.


Can a runner run from first base on a sacrifice fly?

He can. But it would only be a sacrifice fly if someone scored on the play. So there would likely be runners on first and third or bases loaded.


On offense can you advance on an infield fly rule?

Yes, the runners may advance at their own risk.


When the infield fly rule is in effect can the runners advance at their own risk?

When the Infield Fly Rule is in effect [see Section 2.00 of the rulebook] the ball is alive, and runners may advance at the risk of the ball being caught, or retouch and advance after the ball is touched, the same as on any fly ball.


When is the infield fly rule in effect?

If there are less then 2 outs and runners on 1st and 2nd or the bases are loaded. If a ball is popped up on the infield in fair territory the umpire will call "Infield Fly", the batter is out, and the runners are not required to advance, but can do so if they determine at their own risk of being safe or out. The ball is still a live ball in play, and it does not matter if the ball is caught or not. The infield fly rule does not apply to bunted balls that are popped up


What is the call on the batter on a fly ball?

If there are runners on 1st and 3rd or bases loaded with less than two outs and the fly ball is in the infield, the umpire calls "Infield fly, the batter is out." In this case, the batter is out whether the ball is caught or dropped and all runners may return to their bases with no risk. If a runner wants to advance a base, they may do so at their won risk.If a batter hits a fly ball to the infield without the condition stated above, then it is like a normal fly ball, if it is caught it's and out. If it is not caught it is a safe ball and the defensive player must try to make the play at the base. These same rules for a fly-ball hit into the outfield.


What happens if a fly ball is caught before it touches the ground?

In the event of a batted ball being hit on the fly and was caught by an Infielder or Outfielder on the fly before it hit the ground, it will be ruled as a Fly Out and in the event of there being no outs, one out or two outs and in the event of there being runners on base, runners will have to return to their original bases prior to the pitched ball before they can advance to the next base.


When did the infield fly rule stop?

The infield fly rule still applies, and is in effect when the following situations are met: 1. Fewer than two outs 2. A fly ball is hit that an infielder can reasonably catch (umpires discretion) 3. There are runners on 1st and 2nd, or bases are loaded. 4. When the above conditions are met, the umpire will verbally call "infield fly rule" as soon as it is determined the ball is an infield fly. The batter is automatically out, and the runners do not have to advance, even is the ball is dropped. Note: This rule was established to prevent fielders from purposely dropping a fly ball to attempt a double play.


Do runners have to tag up on an infield fly rule?

Yes! Under rule 2.00 'Definition of Terms': "Runners may...retouch and advance after the ball is touched, the same as on any fly ball".


How is the 'infield fly rule' invoked and under what conditions?

If baserunners are at 1st and 2nd base, or the bases are loaded with less than 2 out the umpire may call an "infield fly" if the ball is popped up in the infield area and can be caught with "ordinary" effort by an infielder. If the ball is caught the batter is out and the runners may tag up and advance at their own risk. If the ball is dropped the runners may try and advance to the next base at their own risk (they do not need to tag up/or even advance if they dont want) and the batter is still out. If the umpire fails to call it the rule still apllies. ** Infield fly does not apply to bunts or foul balls -- or line drives.


When can a runner advance after a fly ball has been caught?

Any fly ball, fair or foul, is a live ball when it is caught therefore any runners may tag up and advance at their own risk.


If a fielder catches a foul ball can the runners tag up?

Yes. Runners may tag up and attempt to advance on any fly ball, fair or foul.


The bases are loaded ther is one out the batter hits a fly ball to the 2nd baseman what rule is the rule?

Infield fly rule.


If the bases are loaded with one out and a batted ball hits a runner on second what is the call?

Official rule book section 7.08 (f) Any runner is out when he is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runners may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. The only exception is, if a runner is touching his base when touched by an infield fly, he is not out. This is to protect the runner from being doubled off. However if the runner leaves his base during a infield fly situation and is touched by the ball, both he and the batter are out. In the above situation the call would be, runner on second base called out. Ball is dead and the batter is credited with a hit, forcing the runner on first to second and the runner at third holds his position. Base loaded and two outs., this is assuming that the runner on 2nd base was in front of the infield.


Does a runner have to tag up to advance if an outfielder juggles the flyball?

Once the ball is first touched on the fly by a player, runners can begin to advance. For example, if a line drive caroms off the glove of the second basemen and flies out to the right fielder who catches it on the fly, runners would only have to tag up until the ball hit the second basemen's glove.


What does the word infield fly mean?

An 'infield fly' is a term in baseball where the ball shoots extremely high and is caught in the infield. This is important because it prevents a 'sacrifice fly' which would be a fly ball in the outfield where a base runner could possibly advance. It is also a rule in softball. If the ump calls "infield fly" then its an automatic out if there are runners on 1st and second with less than 2 outs or if bases are loaded with less than 2 outs. It is there so the team cannot get all three outs out of one play. If you leave the base after the ball has hit the mit of an infielder or has touched the ground you are at your own risk and is considered a steal.


How is a sacrifice fly different from a sacrifice bunt?

A sacrifice fly is a fly ball that is caught for an Out, but that allows a runner to tag up and score. A sacrifice bunt is a ball that is "tapped" with the intent of sacrificing an Out (the batter) to advance the runner or runners on base.


If a fielder catches a fly ball and falls over the center field fence can the runners advance?

If he catches the ball, the fielder's position doesn't matter.


Do you have to tag on the infield rule?

If, (while the infield fly rule is in effect), the ball is caught, the runners must tag up. If the ball is dropped or falls to the ground untouched, the runners may advance at their own risk.Clarification:The infield fly rule was enacted to prevent teams from getting an easy double or triple play by letting a popup in the infield drop. An infield fly is just like any other fly ball, with the exception that the batter is immediately out, with results in the runners not being required to advance in the even that the ball is not caught


Bases are loaded 2 outsand batter hits fly ball to outfield outfielder catches ball in his hat is the batter out?

Yes


Is it an infield fly if the ball is in foul territory?

No. The infield fly rule is only for fly balls within the infield. The reason for this is so that a defender cannot intentionally drop a fly ball in order to create a double or triple play. If a fly ball is dropped in foul territory, no runners may advance.


Does a sacrifice fly have to caught in fair territory?

yes a sacrifice fly must be caught in fair territory. if it is not in fair territory when caught runners can not advance. and the base runner must also tag up after the ball is caught


Can a baseball player catch an infield fly - where the ump has declared an infield fly - then throw to a base that a runner hasn't tagged up to yet and get a double play?

As soon as the ump calls the infield fly rule, the batter is out, but the runners can still advance at their own risk. To answer your question specifically, no, the fielder can't do that - that is the exact result that the infield fly rule was enacted to prevent! Usually when they call the infield fly rule, the baserunners go back to the bases relatively quickly, because the play is over.

Study guides

๐Ÿ““
Create a Study Guide