answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No.

The batter is indeed "out," but the play is not a "strike out" for either the batter or the pitcher.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2013-03-20 15:38:00
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is it scored a strike out for the batter if he is hit in fair territory by his own batted ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Who gets the putout when a batter hits the ball but he is out of the batters box and does the pitcher get a strike out?

The batter is out, scored 2u, not a strike out.


Is an at bat get awarded to the batter on a dropped third strike?

Yes, it is scored as an official time at bat and a strikeout.


If a batter bunts and runs into the ball how is it scored?

It would be scored as an out and the credit would go to the catcher, since he is the closest player to play. ANSWER: It depends upon whether the ball was contacted in fair or foul territory when contacted by the runner. In fair territory the runner is out, play is dead (runners can't advance), and the catcher is credited with the putout. In foul territory, it depends on the count. With two strikes the batter is out, and the pitcher is credited with a strikeout. With less than two strikes, it is treated as a strike.


What happens if the ball is 'bunted' on the 3rd strike in softball?

If the ball stays in fair territory, then everything is like a normal bunt. But if the ball is bunted into foul territory on a third strike, then the batter is automatically out.


Is a passed ball in baseball counted as an at bat?

If the ball gets passed the catcher on a (passed) drooped 3rd strike it is scored as a strike out ... If the catcher throws the ball to 1st before the batter gets there it is scored as a strike out and or a 2 to 3 put out ...More then likely a passed ball will be scored an Error then another way ...


Is the batter out when a dropped third strike goes into fair territory and hits the batter attempting to run to first base?

Only if, in the judgment of the umpire, the batter made deliberate contact with the ball.


If a ball bounces before it crosses the plate and is batted into fair territory is it a hit?

If the ball lands in the dirt and the batter swings at it, I believe that is a strike, even if he hits it into fair territory. This is another one that may have to be improved by somebody else if I'm wrong, but I don't think I am on this one.


How do you score a missed third strike if catcher drops third ball and the batter is safe at first?

It is scored as a strike out for the pitcher (as far as the pitcher's stats) but not an out against the team at bat. The base runner's advance to 1st is scored as a passed ball (error) on the cather.


If a batter is hit on the hand is it a strike or hit batsman?

It depends. If the batter tried to make contact with the ball, it is a strike. If the batter's hand was in the strike zone, it is a strike. Otherwise, it is a hit by pitch.


When can a player be hit by a pitch and an out be recorded but a run is scored?

If the batter is struck by the pitch in the strike zone, the ball remains live so if it was the third strike it would be an out. The runner could score from third base.


If a ball comes to the batter and it's a good ball and it's not swung at is that consided a strike out?

If the pitch is in the strike zone, and the batter does not swing, it is a "strike." If the pitch is not in the strike zone, and the batter does not swing, it is a "ball."


What are 3 ways a strike is called on a batter for softball?

The batter watches a strike go by and doesn't swing the bat. A batter swings at a strike and misses. A batter swings at a ball and misses. A batter could also attempt to bunt on the third strike, bunting it foul would lead to the batter being called out.

People also asked