If he is still in the batters box, its scored a hit batter, automatic walk. ----------
The above answer in incorrect. If the batter is hit by a pitch while swinging [Rule 6.05(e)], or if the batter is hit by a pitch on some part of the body that is in the strike zone [Rule 6.08(b)], it is a strike. The batter is not awarded 1B for being hit by the pitch in either case. It is simply a dead ball strike. It doesn't happen very often, but it does happen.
The "K" is placed backwards in cases where the batter strikes out looking.
What_does_a_backwards_k_mean
It was released on January 22, 2013.
A backwards K specifically signifies a called third strike, meaning the batter did not swing at the pitch that resulted in the third strike. It does not imply that all three pitches were called strikes; only the final pitch that resulted in the out is indicated by the backwards K. The regular K, on the other hand, represents a swinging strikeout.
The ball passing through the strike zone. The batter making an attempt to hit the ball by swinging or making a bunt offer at the pitch. The ball striking the bat and not the player even if the batter made no attempt to hit the ball. The ball being hit by the batter into foul territory. The last way is seldom called but once a pitcher steps on the rubber and is ready to pitch the batter has 10 seconds to get in the batters box and be ready to hit if not a strike can be called.
technically a steal from third to home
Dale Mitchell... out on a called third strike.
It's called a triple.
With less than two outs, if first base is unoccupied on a swinging dropped third strike, the batter must be tagged out or forced out at first base. The putout goes either to the player applying the tag (usually the catcher) or the player covering first base in the case of a force out.
no. the batter can stay in the batters box as long as they dnt move when someone is stealing third base. if the batter tried to block the catcher tho by moving, the bater is out. if the catcher hits the batter and the batter is still standing in the batters box, and the catcher throws to third base and the third baseman tags the runner the runner is still safe.
Anytime a batter is walked it does not count as an at bat
In this situation, the term used is a "suicide squeeze". It sounds a little funny but the actual idea is this: Coach will give a sign to the batter to bunt. At the same time the runner at third base will run as soon as the bunt is layed down, sometimes if wanting to take the chance, as soon as the pitcher starts their delivery.