Yes, it is scored as an official time at bat and a strikeout.
Yes.
Anytime a third strike is dropped the runner can advance to first unless he is tagged or the ball is thrown to first before he reaches.
The dropped third strike rule in baseball allows the batter to try to run to first base after the catcher fails to catch the third strike. This rule adds excitement and strategy to the game, as it gives the batter a chance to reach base even after striking out.
yes
Throw the ball back to the pitcher. A batter can not advance on a dropped third if first base is occupied.
Well, first of all, a dropped third strike is an out if the catcher's throw beats the runner. It's that way because that's just the rule.
no
Defensive indifference occurs when a defensive team does not attempt to make a play on a runner advancing to the next base, often seen when the game situation suggests it won't affect the outcome. In the case of a dropped third strike, if the batter does not attempt to run to first base, and the defense does not try to throw him out, it can be considered defensive indifference. However, if the batter does run and the defense makes no effort to tag him out, it is not classified as defensive indifference but rather as an error or a missed opportunity to make a play. The distinction lies in whether the batter attempts to advance after the dropped third strike.
No he does not. He can take the pitch and if the catcher drops it or the ball gets by him the dropped third strike rule is in affect unless there is somone on first with less than 2 outs. If there are 2 outs the rule is in affect even with a runner on 1st.
The "K" is placed backwards in cases where the batter strikes out looking.
In baseball, in order for a batter to be called out after the third strike, the catcher must catch the ball without it hitting the ground. If he does not, and there is no runner on first base, or there are two outs, the batter becomes a batter-runner. At this point, in order to make the out, the catcher must either tag the runner, or throw the ball to first for a force-out. Regardless of the outcome of the play, the pitcher is still awarded a strike-out. As an illustration, a pitcher can face two batters, and strike them both out. A third batter comes to the plate, receives three strikes against him, but due to an uncaught third strike, reach first. A fourth batter can then come to the plate, strike-out, and thus award the pitcher with his fourth strike-out in the inning.
The batter can make an attempt to reach first, but if the ball is fouled off by the batter, the batter is out (strike out).