answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes, whether the batter attempted to contact the ball or not, if the ball strikes the bat and is fouled off, it is a strike, unless there are already two strikes, of course. If, on the other hand, the ball strikes the bat and goes into fair territory, the ball is in play, and the runner can attempt to reach first.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-06-09 02:51:33
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is it a strike if ball hits the bat but the batter is not swinging?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is it a foul ball if a ball hits a batters hand while on the bat?

If the batter was swinging it is a strike...if the batter was not swinging, then they are deemed to have been "hit by pitch" and are awarded first base.


If the batter swings and the ball hits his hand?

If the batter swings and the ball hits anywhere but the bat the pitch is called a strike. Even if it hits the person batting, while swinging, but if he is bunting and gets hit it is not a strike There is no rule that states that if a batter is attempting to bunt and a pitched ball hits him that the pitch is anything but a strike. In short, if a batter is hit during any type of swing, the pitch is ruled a strike.


A baseball bat is a machine. When a batter swings and hits a ball the batter swinging is the?

The batter swinging the bat.


If a batter is hit by a pitch after the ball hits his bat while trying to get out of the way of the pitch and not swinging or bunting at it does the batter go to first base?

No. If the ball hits the batter's bat first there can be no call of hit by pitched ball. Added: It is actually a foul ball and a strike.


What provides the input force when a batter swings and hits a ball?

the batter swinging the bat :) apex


If a pitcher throws the ball to the batter and he doesn't hit it?

If the batter attempts to hit the ball and misses, it is a strike. If the batter does not attempt to hit the ball and the ball enters the strike zone, it is a strike. If the batter does not attempt to hit the ball and the ball does not enter the strike zone, it is a ball (unless it hits the batter, then the batter is awarded 1st base).


Is it a strike if the ball hits the ground before home plate and the batter hits it?

Yes. If the batter swings, it's a strike.


If you swing and miss the ball but the ball hits you is it a strike or hit by a pitch?

The batter would be charged with a strike.


What is the ruling for ASA fast pitch softball on a batter hitting the ball but the ball hits her hand as she hits the ball to the infield?

According to the rule book, the umpire will declare the pitch a strike if the ball touches the batter as the batter strikes at the ball, or if the ball touches the batter while the ball is in the strike zone.


Who gets the putout when a batter hits the ball but he is out of the batters box and does the pitcher get a strike out?

The batter is out, scored 2u, not a strike out.


Softball rules can batter hit ball after it hits the ground?

no absolutely not it is an automatic strike If the ball is pitched and hits the ground before it gets to the batter and the batter then hits the ball it is a legal hit.


A baseball bat is a machine. What provides the input force when a batter swings and hits a ball?

The batter swinging the bat.

People also asked