answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

MLB Rule 5.08 is pretty clear:

If a thrown ball accidentally touches a base coach, or a pitched or thrown ball touches an umpire, the ball is alive and in play. However, if the coach interferes with a thrown ball, the runner is out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2013-10-25 18:08:50
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is it a dead ball if the ball is thrown to first base and hits the base coach?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Third base coach hit by thrown ball.is this a live ball?

YES ... this would be the same as if it was thrown and it the foul side walls ...


Is it a sacrific if the batter bunts a ball with runners on first base and third base and is thrown out at first?

yes


When a player is on first or third can the coach be out of the box?

The 1st base coach can never be out of the coach's box. The 3rd base coach can only be out of his box when the ball is hit and there is a runner on or advancing to 3rd base.


Does a runner on first have to advance on a ground ball?

Actually it is possible for a runner on first not to advance on a ground ball, though it is very unlikely. If the hitter is thrown out at first base on a force play before the runner on first is thrown out, he can return to first base if at all possible.


Are you out If thrown by a ball in baseball?

If you're thrown 4 balls, you get to walk (free walk to first base) but if you're thrown 3 strikes, then you're out.


If a batter hits a foul ball that is caught by the first base coach in front of first base just before the first baseman can catch the ball is the batter out on interference?

yes


Can a batter run to first on a passed ball?

If the passed ball was a result of strike three (with fewer than 2 outs), and first base is unoccupied, the batter can ATTEMPT to run to first base before being thrown out by the catcher. (He is not ENTITLED to first base). He is entitled to first base if the pitch was ball four, whether the ball is a passed ball or not.


Runner going to first and ball is thrown into dugout how many bases awarded?

ONE (1)... and one (1) for every base runner ... two (2) if the ball is thrown in the stands ...


when a runner on second base ground ball to third base and the batter is thrown out at first?

Runner stays on second base if he is smart. That is a 5 to 3 out.


Is a base runner out when hit by a thrown ball?

No, but he would be out if he were hit with a batted ball.


Who makes the call when a player misses the base while advancing the umpire or the coach.?

A coach may yell out from the dugout but, it is up to which ever player has the ball when the play is over. All he has to do is touch the contested base with the ball in his hand. The umpire will either rule safe or out. It has to happen before another pitch is thrown.


Can a runner on first base be thrown out if he is attempting to steal second base on ball four?

No. After ball four is thrown to the batter it is a base on balls. The batter is entitled to first base, and any base runner forced ahead may advance. Even if the runner on first is attempting to steal on the pitch, he is awarded second base and cannot be thrown out. Of course the runner from first is award second base, but is only protected up to the base. If he overruns or overslides the second base because in his steal attempt he was not paying attention, he can be tagged out if he is off the bag.

People also asked