answersLogoWhite

0

The ball is dead whenever the umpire calls "time", whenever it goes out of play, when it becomes a foul ball, whenever a pitch hits a batter, or whenever a batted ball hits a runner (and a few other circumstances). It doesn't matter whether the pitcher has it or not. On the other hand, it can't be put back _in play_ until the pitcher has it and is on the rubber.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

EzraEzra
Faith is not about having all the answers, but learning to ask the right questions.
Chat with Ezra
SteveSteve
Knowledge is a journey, you know? We'll get there.
Chat with Steve
BlakeBlake
As your older brother, I've been where you are—maybe not exactly, but close enough.
Chat with Blake
More answers

It depends. If the ball hits the umpire in the mask and stuns him. He will most likely call a dead ball or time. If he doesn't thoug. It is a live ball and still in play.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
User Avatar

The ball is dead right after it hits the bird

User Avatar

Wiki User

18y ago
User Avatar

It's still playable as a fair ball

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If the pitched ball hits the umpire is it a dead ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp