It is not a dead ball until someone downs (touches) it.
Can a kickoff team catch the ball in the air if it has gone 10 yards
Dont care.
The kicking team, this happened last Sunday in the Panthers-Redskins game- http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-total-access/09000d5d8136a6b6/Official-Review-Week-5
If the ball goes wholly and completely over the goal line - but NOT in the goal - and is last touched by the attacking team - it is a goal kick from the 6 yard line. If the goalie catches the ball and controlls it off of the ground - then he can then throw or punt it - it is his choice!! And if the goalie accidentally throws or punts it into his own goal - it is NOT a goal - it is a corner kick - because goalie punts are indirect and must touch another player before going into ANY goal!!!! If the goalie punts it and it bounces off another player and THEN goes it his own goal - it is a goal!!!!!
Turnover on downs and other teams ball where it was touched.
Assuming the Team A forward was in an onside position at the exact instant of the punt, then a goal would be awarded.
Yes, a receiving team can signal a fair catch on a kickoff, which allows them to catch the ball without being hit. However, if the kicking team catches the ball after it has gone 10 yards, it is considered a live ball, and they can advance it. The fair catch signal by the receiving team is only effective for their players; once the ball has traveled 10 yards, the kicking team is allowed to catch and play the ball.
No, the punting team cannot catch the ball in the air while it is in play.
Yes. Any kick, punt or kickoff, can be fair caught. One major difference between fair catching a punt and fair catching a kickoff is that the kickoff is a free kick. Where a punt returner deep in his own territory may call for a fair catch and let the ball bounce on the ground in the hope that the ball will bounce into the end zone for a touchback, the kick returner must catch the ball due to the fact that a kickoff is a free kick and the team that recovers a free kick is awarded possession of the ball.
football... the person who punts the ball
She tried to catch the ball before it hit the ground.
It depends on the level of play. In Highschool: Yes as long as he had possession and 1 foot in bounds, it's a catch. In NCAA and NFL: There is a concept of the 'process of the catch', which basically means that if a player catches a ball and lands inbounds and immediately goes out of bounds (without making some sort of football action), then he must maintain possession of the ball through the whole process of the catch (which includes landing on the ground and even movement on the ground for a few seconds). If you really want to see how difficult this 'process of the catch' is, consider the following scenarios: An offensive player (Team "A") catches the ball mid-air. A defensive player (Team "B") hits the player while he is still in the air air. The Team A player lands on the ground (two feet), then falls and hits his knees on the ground and while landing on his back, and still struggling with the Team B player: 1.) Team B player pops the ball out of the hands of the Team A player, and the ball hits the ground. 2.) Team B player rips the ball out of the hands of the Team A player, and gains possession a split second before both their backs are on the ground. What do you think will happen? 1.) Although the moment the Team "A" player's knees are on the ground, giving him possession of the ball, he doesn't "complete the process of the catch", so it is an incomplete pass. 2.) Because the 'process of the catch' is complete, the ball is dead where it is... HOWEVER, since the Team A player had possession when his knees hit the ground, he retains possession. So the 'process of the catch' seems a bit weird and may end up changing. In my scenario, it is better for a defender to knock a ball loose instead of taking possession himself, which is backwards to all other types of play. So this question is a good one, but is a lot deeper than most people realize. (For the record, I'm an NCAA deep wing official that verified the ruling above with multiple Division-2 & Division-1 NCAA officials, and an NFL official).