Best Answer


User Avatar

Mr Answers

Lvl 11
3y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago

MLB Rule 5.08 is pretty clear:

If a thrown ball accidentally touches a base coach, or a pitched or thrown ball touches an umpire, the ball is alive and in play. However, if the coach interferes with a thrown ball, the runner is out.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

The ball is alive, nothing can kill a live ball except when a pitcher hits a batter or the ball goes out of the playing field.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

yes... the coaches box is out of play


This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is ball dead if it hits coach in coaches box?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Is a ball fair or foul it it hits a base coach?

Since 1st and 3rd base coaches must remain outside the foul lines on the field of play, any ball that hits a base coach is, by definition, foul.

Is it a dead ball When the ball comes off the bat and hits the plate?

No, the ball is not dead and the batter may attempt to hit it.

If you swing and ball hits you is the ball live or dead?

If you swing and miss and the ball hits you, it is a strike and a live ball. If you swing and the bat makes contact with the ball and the ball hits you while you're in the batter's box, it is a foul ball and a dead ball.

If a slowpitched softball hits the ground is it a dead ball?

after the batter hits the ball and it's a fair ball it's not a dead ball. if the ball lands in foul territory, it's a foul ball.

In kids' pitch is it a dead ball if it hits the ground before it hits the batter?

In regular baseball rules, the ball is still live, even if it hits the ground first, until it hits the batter, then it becomes a "dead ball". If it never hits the batter, its still a live ball.

What is the rule when a batter hits a ball then the ball hits the batter and there are runners in first and second baseis this a dead ball or live?

it is a foul.

Is the ball dead if it hits you while you are on base?

unless it goes into the stands after it hits you then no.

If the pitched ball hits the umpire is it a dead ball?

The ball is dead whenever the umpire calls "time", whenever it goes out of play, when it becomes a foul ball, whenever a pitch hits a batter, or whenever a batted ball hits a runner (and a few other circumstances). It doesn't matter whether the pitcher has it or not. On the other hand, it can't be put back _in play_ until the pitcher has it and is on the rubber.

Is the play dead if the ball hits the batter in fair territory. Can runners advance?

Yes the ball is dead, and no the runners cannot advance.

Team A punts to team B the ball hits ground after punt can team A catch ball then toss ball to ground is it live or dead ball?

It is not a dead ball until someone downs (touches) it.

The cather throws a passed ball or wild pitch and the ball hits the umpire does the run count?

no it is considered a dead ball

Suicide squeeze and the ball hits the batter and the runner on third is barreling down the line but the ball hits the batter?

If a pitched ball hits the batter, it is dead, and all runners must return to their bases.