answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

not unless the bases are loaded, creating a force at home for the runner on third otherwise the runner must be tagged to be put out

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-06-12 13:57:22
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is a runner out if the ball gets to home base before them?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Is the batter out or safe if a base runner gets hit by a ball?

the runner is out not the hitter but if he doesn't reach base before the ball is thrown to the base he would be out too.


If a base runner and the ball reach the base at the same time on a force play is the runner safe or out?

MLB rules state the ball must beat the runner to the base on a force play. If the ball and the runner reach the base at the same time the runner would be considered safe. However, there are no ties in baseball. The runner either gets there before the ball or after...Ties are only a myth.....


How can people get out in softball?

To get someone out in softball the pitcher can strike them out. They can hit a pop-fly that is caught. The ball can beat the runner to first base by a defensive player tagging that base before the runner gets there. If the runner runs into a defensive player who is making the initial play on the ball, the runner is out. The runner could be tagged out before they touch the base.


If a player from first to second runs into the base before the ball gets there but the baseman reaches for the ball and knocks the runner off the base and falls on him then tags him is he out?

no


If a ball is a pop fly and the opponent catches it is the hitter out?

Yes, the hitter is out and if the fielder who caught the ball can get it to a base before the runner gets back the runner is out making it a double play


Runner on base gets hit with batted ball is he out?

yep


After hitting the Ball is the runner out if he stops to avoid the tag by the first baseman before he gets to first base?

he is not out as long as he stays in the base line


If you are a forced runner in baseball and make it to base before the ball gets there and get off the base but get back on it do you need to be taged out or does the ball just have to be on the base?

If you reach the base before the ball but overrun the base, you must then be tagged out. Once you reach the base it is no longer a force play and the fielder must tag you off the base to make an out.


In softball when a runner gets to the base before the fielders get the ball is called a what?

I guess if you were to call it something it would be called advancing bases, or if the coaches were talking about the runner it would be called advancing the runner.


How do you get an out in softball?

There are many ways including tagging a runner with the ball, striking a batter out, thowing the ball to a teammate on a base and then she must step on the base before the runner gets there, catcing a ball, and there are others. I would consult a recent rulebook to find other rules that could cause outs.


Can a boy when he steals 2nd base and the throw to 2nd goess into outfield can the runner advance to 3rd or is this a one base at a time deal?

When the ball is in play, a base runner can always ATTEMPT to advance to the next base. He is allowed to advance to next base if the ball was badly thrown during an attempted steal of an earlier base. Note that, if the outfielder throws the ball to third base and the third baseman tags the runner before he gets to third base, the runner is out -- just like any other attempt to "steal" a base.


Is a caught ball a hit even if the runner gets on base?

If a batted ball is caught in the air, the batter is out and would not be on base. It would not be a "hit."


In fast pitch baserunner is stealing on pitch but the ball gets away from catcher does the base runner stealing get credit for stolen base?

yes, the base runner stealing does get credit for the stolen base.


Can the runner in baseball advance after he is hit by a thrown ball and it goes out of bounds?

Once the ball goes out of play, the number of bases the runner is to advance will depend on the ground rules at that ball park, generally when a ball goes out of play the runner gets 1 base


How do you get a force -play in baseball?

Lets say there is a man on first base, and the batter gets an infield ground hit that is picked off by the shortstop. The shortstop throws the ball to the 2nd baseman who steps on 2nd base before the runner a at 1st can reach it. This is a force out as the 2nd baseman does not have to tag the incoming runner. If the shortstop caught the ball before the ball hit the ground and can throw the ball to the 1st baseman before the runner at 1st can get back and put his foot on the bag, then that would also would be a force out.


Forced outs in baseball?

when a runner is called out because the opposing team retrieves a batted ball and throws or runs it to the base that is one base ahead of the base he was on before the ball was batted, and he was 'forced to advance a base' because there were no open bases behind him. for example, if a man is on first base and a ball is batted in the field of play, he must reach 2nd base before the opposing team gets the ball to 2nd base...if not, he is 'forced out'


What happens if a base runner gets hit by a thrown ball?

Unless the runner intentionally intefered with the incoming throw, he is not out and the play remains live.


How do you get outs in softball?

If someone gets to the base with the ball before you, or you get tagged by the ball.


Does the hitter get credited for a single if he makes a ground ball hit to the outfield and the runner at first gets forced out at second base?

No. In no situation can a batter be credited with a base hit if a runner is forced out.


Is a runner out if he gets hit by a line drive?

If a runner is hit by ANY kind of batted ball, before a fielder has a chance to catch it, the runner is out and play is halted.


If a Runner on 3rd gets hit by foul ball in foul territory before the ball reaches 3rd is he safe or out?

safe


If the base runner gets hit with the grounded ball do the remaining base runners remain where they are?

The base runner is out that got hit with the ball as long as he is in fair territory. At this point the ball is considered dead and the runners would go to the base they should be at. Example: Runners at 1st and 2nd. Guy on 2nd running toward 3rd after ball is hit, he is hit. He is out. Runner at 1st is awarded 2nd, batter is awarded 1st and the ball is dead.


Can a foul ball ever be a sacrifice fly?

yes, if it is a fly ball and it gets caught, any base runner can try to go to the next base. for example, a runner on third tags up on a fly ball. the right fielder catches it in foul territory. as long as the runner on third is on the base or goes back and touches it after leading off, she can try to steal home.


If on a fielders choice the 2nd baseman doesn't touch the base can the runner be out?

If the runner gets tagged, then he is out. If the base doesn't get stepped on or the runner gets tagged, then he is safe.


If a batted ground ball hits a base runner who is on the base is the runner safe or out?

A batted ball that hits a runner in fair territory, without first being touched by a defender (or passing a fielder other than the pitcher) results in -- a dead ball, runner is ruled out, and the batter gets first base. According to the old rules, batter is credited with a single, but currently the batter is credited with a fielder's choice unless the umpire judges that the ball would have been a single. The putout goes to the nearest defensive player. Being on base doesn't change the situation. The only exception is if the base runner, while on the base (force or not), is hit by an Infield Fly. Ref 7.08. "Any runner is out when... (f) He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching his base when touched by an Infield Fly, he is not out, although the batter is out;"