I guess if you were to call it something it would be called advancing bases, or if the coaches were talking about the runner it would be called advancing the runner.
Not sure about all six, but the batter can be out if (s)he bunts foul on strike two (this is actually a strikeout), steps on the plate while bunting the ball, steps on the plate while hitting the ball, hits the ball when it is determined that the batter is out of the batter's box, touches the ball in fair territory with the body while out of the batters box, is hit by a throw to first from behind if not running in the outlined base running area between home and first, is hit by a pitch that is in the strike zone if (s)he intentionally positions a part of the body in a way that results in the ball hitting him/her.
1. 3 strikes are called ("strikeout") 2. the ball hit by the batter is caught before hitting the ground ("flyout") 3. first baseman catches the ball before the batter runs there 4. the batter doesn't stand in the batter's box 5. the batter runs to a base that has already been tagged ("tagged" or "tag play") 6. the runner is tagged with the ball before reaching a base 7. the runner goes more than 3 feet out of the base line to avoid being tagged 8. the runner doesn't touch the bases (the runner is allowed to run past first but must touch second and third) 9. a fielder holding the ball touches a base, that is the only remaining base to which the runner can go, before the runner gets there
depends on the sport, but in baseball yes he is out. its called bean-baging EDIT: No. Baseball is not kickball. A baserunner is not out if he/she is hit by a thrown ball as long as the baserunner is in the base path. If the runner is considered to have left the base path as so to interfere with a thrown ball, or made some other purposeful effort to impede the flight of the ball (ie, stick his/her hand or leg in the way), they can be called out for interference. This is a judgment call made at the discretion of one of the umpires. However, a baserunner is considered automatically out if struck by a batted ball. And as far as I know, bean-bagging is not a term used in baseball.
Yes, if it is a force out, as long as the fielder has the ball in his possession (glove or free hand) if he touches the bag before the runner with any part of his body then the runner would be called out. Now if this was a play that required a tag, and the ball was in his bare hand and the tag is made with the glove, or visa-versa, then the runner is safe
A runner doesn't get a strike, a batter does.
Anytime the batter is put out at 1st base on a batted ball it is not considered a fielders choice, it is simply a put out. Now in your scenario if the catcher would have thrown home and the runner coming from 3rd is out and the batter is safe at 1st, then in that case it would be a fielders choice
If the runner gets tagged, then he is out. If the base doesn't get stepped on or the runner gets tagged, then he is safe.
no. the only way to get out while base running is: if you get thrown out. if you get tagged out. or, if you lead off before the pitcher has released the ball.