answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

no i dont know about in Baseball, but in fastpitch softball... the batter would be out

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-05-27 11:04:20
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is a batter out if he is walked and goes past first base and is tagged returning to first base?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If a batter on a dropped third strike runs to first base and over runs the base can he be tagged out before returning to the base?

No. One rule without exception is the right for the batter-runner to overrun first base without jeopardy of being tagged out unless an attempt is made to go to second.


Can a runner from third base score if the batter is tagged out for the third out?

If the batter is tagged out before he reaches first base it is still considered a force out and the runner cannot score, however if the batter crosses first base safely and then is tagged out, the run counts if the third base runner crosses home plate before the batter is tagged out.


Can a batter run backward in order to not get tagged out on the way to first base?

NO


If the catcher throws the ball to first base after the batter is walked can he be tagged out?

Depends, If the hitter rounds first base into fair territory and the first baseman tags him yes. But if the catchers throws the ball to first and the hitter jogs down to first he can not be declared out when tagged unless he rounds first into fair territory


If a batter overruns first base after a walk can he be tagged out?

If they turns left after crossing first base they can be tagged out, but if he turns right there is no intent to go to second and they cannot.


When does a batter need to be tagged after dropping strike 3?

Anytime a third strike is dropped the runner can advance to first unless he is tagged or the ball is thrown to first before he reaches.


Can a forced runner run back to first base?

yes but they can be tagged on the base if the batter has not been out yet.


Can the runner retreat toward home to avoid being tagged before reaching first base?

A batter exiting the batter's box and running to first need not be tagged at all as a player on the opposing team needs only to tag the base while in possesion of the ball.


If there is a runner on first base and the batter is put out at first is the force removed for the runner?

The force is off so the runner can only be tagged out.


What is the most steals a team can get in an inning without scoring a run?

Ten - First batter reaches steals two bases tagged out at plate. Second batter does the same. Third batter steals two bases and fourth batter steals one. Ten is the answer but alternatively, first batter gets on and steals two bases (2). Next batter reaches first and steals second (3). Third batter reaches first and now with three runners on each base a triple steal could be executed with the 3rd base runner being tagged out (5). Repeat last sentence, (7). Then the fifth batter gets walked, and a triple steal is attempted. The runner from third gets caught in a rundown. The runner from second steals third (8). The runner from first steals second and third (10). Then one of the three runners now between third and home gets tagged out before the lead runner can score.


If a batter is tagged out going to first are all other runners forced to run?

no, if there's a runner on first base and the batter gets a strike-out but the catcher drop the ball. he's out because of the runner on first base.


A batter over runs first base and returns in the field of play but getting tagged before he is back on base is he out?

Yes, he is out.


After an infield hit can the batter be tagged out for making an attempt to go to second base without crossing the first base line?

no


Can a batter that has been walked take off to second?

When a batter is walked, they can only go to first base at first. Once they are on first base and the next batter is up to bat, they can steal, or advance on a base hit.


Does a thrid base runner need to be tagged out if the hitter is tagged out first?

the only way for them to get out is if there tagged so yes


Can a hitter be considered a force out after he reaches first safely but rounds first?

No, once the batter/runner reached 1st he would need to be tagged out if he rounds 1st. He would be credited with a single (if everything else met the criteria for a base hit) -- then if you tagged him he would be out


Can a runner advancing to second on a force play safely return to first prior to being tagged out if the batter runner was put out first?

Yes. Once the runner that just batted is tagged out there is no longer a force out for the runner advancing to second. Therefore he can continue to second or go back to first.


Does run count if crosses plate before third out at first?

The run doesn't count if the out at first is a force out, if the batter overruns first base and is tagged out in an attempt to get back to first then the run would count.


What are the four ways a batter can get out in softball?

1. 3 strikes are called ("strikeout") 2. the ball hit by the batter is caught before hitting the ground ("flyout") 3. first baseman catches the ball before the batter runs there 4. the batter doesn't stand in the batter's box 5. the batter runs to a base that has already been tagged ("tagged" or "tag play") 6. the runner is tagged with the ball before reaching a base 7. the runner goes more than 3 feet out of the base line to avoid being tagged 8. the runner doesn't touch the bases (the runner is allowed to run past first but must touch second and third) 9. a fielder holding the ball touches a base, that is the only remaining base to which the runner can go, before the runner gets there


What is a base in baseball?

In baseball, when the batter hits the ball, he has to run to first base. First base is when he is safe, where he can not be tagged out by the ball. You can also steal base :) i play 12u softball I am a gall


Man at first ground ball first baseman tags first runner does not advance to second stays on first is this a double play?

If the runner remains standing on the bag when the 1st baseman touches the bag and the 1st baseman does not tag the runner prior to touching the bag, then the runner is safe and you have no double play. Answer To clarify, once the Batter becomes a batter-runner, the runner at first loses his right to occupy first base and is forced to advance. If he is tagged while standing on the base, he is out. If the first baseman then steps on first base the Batter-runner is also out -- Double Play. BUT, if the first baseman first steps on the base the batter-runner is out and the force is removed. If the runner standing on first base is now tagged he is safe.


Runner on first pop up to shortstop he catches the ball and then throws the ball out of play with runner on first Where does the runner go?

He stays at first, the shortstop caught the ball and so the batter is out, therefore no one can run. The runner can run from first once he/she has 'tagged up'. Tagged up means that the runner touched first base after the defensive player has caught the ball.


When a batter hits safely to the out field and is thrown out at second is he credited with a single?

No, once you are tagged out you don't get credited with anything if you are the one at bat. Now if another batter hits the ball and there was already a man on base at first and he gets tagged at 2nd base, then yes the man on 1st base would get the single from his previous at bat If the batted ball was cleanly a base hit and he was thrown out trying to advance past first base then the batter would be given the hit corresponding to the last base the batter reached safely. If the batter was thrown out at second, the batter would be given a single. If the batter was thrown out at third, the batter would be given a double. If the batter was thrown out at home plate, the batter would be given a triple.


If a runner trying to advance to third unforced with two outs is tagged out after the batter has reached first base by the shortstop on a ball hit into the hole does the batter receive a hit?

no hit, assume runner trying to keep defensive player from throwing to first base.


Catcher drops glove with ball still inside on third strike is batter out?

the batter has a strike out but the catcher glove dropping is the same a the ball dropping and thebatter will run to first ... which the catcher will throw the ball to for the put out ... It is a strikeout, but the batter is not out until he is either tagged out by the catcher, or the ball is thrown to first for the put out, or the batter leaves the home plate area to return to the dugout.