answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

NO. Base runner's must run the bases in the order they batted. If a runner overtakes another runner, he is automatically out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-07-09 15:28:30
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: In baseball can a runner on second run back to first while the runner on first goes to second?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can the first baseman stand on first base while the runner is advancing to second on an extra base hit?

Yes, as long as he does not interfere with the base runner.


What is sacrifice in baseball?

If you are referring to a sacrifice bunt, it is a play in which they may need to move a runner on first to second to get him into scoring position. They bunt the ball and force them to throw to first to get the batter out while they get the baserunner to second base.


Runners on 1st and 2nd ball is hit to shortstop the runner from second to third takes three steps off the bag and goes back to second the shortstop tags runner standing on second and then tags bag?

Runner on first is out. Runner on second is safe because he was tagged while standing on second base.


Man at first ground ball first baseman tags first runner does not advance to second stays on first is this a double play?

If the runner remains standing on the bag when the 1st baseman touches the bag and the 1st baseman does not tag the runner prior to touching the bag, then the runner is safe and you have no double play. Answer To clarify, once the Batter becomes a batter-runner, the runner at first loses his right to occupy first base and is forced to advance. If he is tagged while standing on the base, he is out. If the first baseman then steps on first base the Batter-runner is also out -- Double Play. BUT, if the first baseman first steps on the base the batter-runner is out and the force is removed. If the runner standing on first base is now tagged he is safe.


If first base runner is hit in foot by grounder while running to second is he out?

If the ball hits the runner before it passes a defensive player other than the pitcher, he is out. If the ball has passed another player (like the 2nd baseman) and then it hits the runner he is not out.


If a runner is hit with the ball by a miss throw by to the second base man is the runner out?

No. To force an out, the defensive player has to touch the runner with the ball or touch the runner with the glove while the ball is in the glove. A thrown ball touching a runner does not count.


What if a runner rounds third then retreats only to find a runner from second is now on third and he retreats to second but is tagged out what happens to the runner on third?

Lead runner has the right to the bag as long as they are not being forced ahead by occupants of other bases. If the runner on 3rd was not being forced they can return to the bag and the runner from 2nd must return to 2nd. The runner returning to second if tagged is out and unless the runner returning to 3rd is tagged while off the base then they are safe. If both runner attempt to occupy the base at the same time and fielder tags both runners while they occupy the base the runner from 2nd is out unless they are being forced ahead then the runner from 3rd is out.


Runners on first and third one out fly ball caught and runner on first goes to second without tagging up and is thrown out at first does the run count?

No. On any play if there is a force out on any base, the run scoring does not count. If the runner on first tagged up and then was tagged out at second, while trying to advance, and the runner touched home plate before the runner was tagged out at second then the run would have counted. The above answer is incorrect. The run does count because it is technically not a force out. It goes under the off the base category. The runner is returning to the bag, he is not forced to proceed to the next bag which negates the run from scoring.


How long does it take to go from 1st base to 2nd base?

The distance between first and second base in major league baseball is 90 feet, but the time it takes to run from one to the other really depends on the speed of the runner. A speedy runner might run that distance in close to 3 seconds while a slower runner may take closer to 6 or 7 seconds.


If the runner first is tagged while still standing on first base following a ground ball is he out?

no


What is the ending of Hit and Run?

The base runner is safe at third while the batter is safe at first


Runner on second is hit by the batted ball while running to third. How is this recorded?

dead ball, the runner is out and the putout goes to the closest fielder...the batter gets credit for a hit and if there are other runners that are forced to advance by the batter getting first (in this case, a runner on first), he gets to advance also...if there are 2 outs, the batter still gets credit for a hit but the inning is over


With runners on first and third the batter hits a ground ball to the second baseman who tags the runner going to second base before he reaches it does the run count?

Not if that is the 3rd out in the inning...even if he tagged him after the runner reached home... now if the runner over ran the bag and was then tagged the run would count... But in the case of a force out or fielders choice to end the inning the run would not count. It doesn't matter whether the out was recorded by stepping on the base or by tagging the runner. The important thing is that the runner did not reach the base to which he was forced to run. The same would be true if the batter was tagged out while running to first.


In softball is the first basemen allowed to stand right on top of the base when a runner is running to the firstbase?

Yes, however it is not recommended because if the first basemen is on the base while the runner is running and the runner runs into the first basemen there will be no calls made on interference and injury is very possible. This is why you have the orange/white double first bases in youth softball. The first baseman can actually be called for interference if they are blocking the white base in youth softball just as they can for blocking second or third.


Does the run count if while runners on second and third the runner on third crosses the plate while the third baseman tags the man coming from second to third for the third out on a ground ball?

The run will count if the runner on third crosses the plate before the runner on second gets taged out. All force place end the inning without any runs scoring, however, all tag plays end the inning at the time of the third out.


When can a baseman tag the base for an out?

There are two situations when a baseman can tag the base for an out.The first is the force out. A force out happens when a baseman tags the base of the only possible location for the runner. For example, if a batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman, the first baseman only needs to tag first base because it is the runner's only possible destination. Also, if there was a runner on first base and a ground ball was hit, there would be a force out at both second and first base because they runner on first base would be forced to progress one base. With a man on first and second base, you can force at first, second and third, and with the bases loaded, there is a force at every base. If there is a runner on second and/or third, but not first, the runners are not required to progress one base, so there is only a force at first.The second is on the fly ball. If a fly ball is caught, a base runner must touch the base again ("tag up") before moving on to the next base. If they do not tag up after the ball is caught, the baseman at the base from which they left can tag that base for the out. For example, if there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a fly ball, and that ball is caught, the runner must touch the base after the ball is caught before he can leave for the next base. If he doesn't touch the base after the ball is caught, the baseman only need tag the base while holding the ball for the out.


What happens when two runners occupy a base and both are tagged out?

According to MLB Rule 7.03: " Two runners may not occupy a base, but if, while the ball is alive, two runners are touching a base, the following runner shall be out when tagged. The preceding runner is entitled to the base. " If two runners are on a base and both are tagged, the runner that got to the base first is safe and the runner that got to the base second is out.


Is a running out at second base on a infield fly rule if the ball hits the runner while standing on the base?

No, as long as he is on the base he is safe


What is a term for a geometric figure that encloses another geometric figure.?

In 2-dimensional geometry, the first shape circumscribesthe second while the second is inscribed in the first.


Is the runner safe or out if the fielder loses the ball while tagging the runner?

Safe


What bases are to touch?

In baseball, second, third and home bade can be touched or slid into. First base can only be stepped on/while ran past.


Runner on third taking a lead is hit by a thrown ball from catcher while in fair territory is he safe or out?

He is out for interfering with a thrown ball while running out of the baseline. The same is true with a runner running to first base. Tom Seaver said that when he saw a runner running to first in fair territory he would throw the ball into his back to get the quick out.


Does the run score when the third out is made at second or third base in baseball?

If the third out is a force play of any kind, then no runs score. EXAMPLE: runners on first and third. Batter lays down a perfect bunt towards third base. Man on third comes home, man on first slips while running to second. Runner on third touches home well before third baseman fires the ball to second in time to make a force out. No runs scored. If a runner touches home plate before a TAG OUT, however, the run scores, even if that tag out was the third out. EXAMPLE: Same situation, but this time the runner going to second base gets there before there is a force play BUT over-runs second base and is tagged out. Inning is over but the run scores.


With a runner on 2nd base and no outs which infielder is responsible for keeping the runner close to 2b?

well it depends where the ball is hit because if the ball is hit to the right side of second base then it is the shortstops job to be on the base while the second base helps out and vice versa


Is the runner safe when the fielder knocks down the ball when it is hit to first base and while he is on the ground with the ball in his left hand the player touches first base with his glove only?

I assume the question means the fielder is on the ground (floor?)..in either case, the fielder legally tagged the base while holding the ball firmly and the batter is out. See definition of "tag" in baseball rules. It is the same as the firstbaseman touching (tagging) first with his foot while the ball is in his glove. This would not be true if the runner is not forced, in which case the fielder must tag the runner with the ball held firmly in his hand or glove.