answersLogoWhite

0

What else can I help you with?

Related Questions

Man at first ground ball first baseman tags first runner does not advance to second stays on first is this a double play?

If the runner remains standing on the bag when the 1st baseman touches the bag and the 1st baseman does not tag the runner prior to touching the bag, then the runner is safe and you have no double play. Answer To clarify, once the Batter becomes a batter-runner, the runner at first loses his right to occupy first base and is forced to advance. If he is tagged while standing on the base, he is out. If the first baseman then steps on first base the Batter-runner is also out -- Double Play. BUT, if the first baseman first steps on the base the batter-runner is out and the force is removed. If the runner standing on first base is now tagged he is safe.


If a runner commits to second base and then returns to first does he need to be tagged out.?

This is not a force play, so the runner would have to be tagged to be Out.


If on a fielders choice the 2nd baseman doesn't touch the base can the runner be out?

If the runner gets tagged, then he is out. If the base doesn't get stepped on or the runner gets tagged, then he is safe.


Does a thrid base runner need to be tagged out if the hitter is tagged out first?

the only way for them to get out is if there tagged so yes


Batter hits ground ball to 2nd basemen 2nd basemen throws to 1st basemen The first basemen catches the ball with bare hand and tags the Runner with Glove before he reaches 1st base What is the call?

Runner on first is out. Runner on second is safe because he was tagged while standing on second base.


In a double play if base nor runner are tagged is runner safe?

Yes, the runner would be safe.


When you are a runner at first base and the batter hits a ground ball does the runner need to run to second?

== Answer== It depends, If the batter hits a fly ball that is caught with less than two outs the original man on second is safe. If the runner from first can return to first before a defensive player can touch it with the ball he is also safe. If a ground ball is hit with less than two outs both runners are forced to advance. As long as the guy from first gets there before the ball he is safe and the original runner is out.


Bases loaded Batter hits a weak grounder towards first Pitcher picks up the ball and throws to the 1st baseman who tags runner Runner from first base never runs What is the call?

From major league rulebook:7.03(a) Two runners may not occupy a base, but if, while the ball is alive, two runners are touching a base, the following runner shall be out when tagged and the preceding runner is entitled to the base, unless Rule 7.03(b) applies.(b) If a runner is forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner and two runners are touching a base to which the following runner is forced, the following runner is entitled to the base and the preceding runner shall be out when tagged or when a fielder possesses the ball and touches the base to which such preceding runner is forced.


When do you have to tag a runner in baseball?

In baseball, a runner must be tagged when they are not on a base and the defensive player has the ball.


When is a force play in effect?

A force play is in effect when a runner or runners are on base so that a fielder has to step on a base in order to record an out of the runner in question. Here's an example with the Cleveland Indians. Say Grady Sizemonre is on 1st base and Hafner is batting. If Hafner hits a ground ball to an infielder then they can force Sizemore out at 2nd base. A runner is forced to advance because the batter becomes a batter-runner. The runner may be tagged or the next base can be tagged by a fielder.


What are the baseball tag out rules for a runner trying to advance to a base?

In baseball, a runner can be tagged out while trying to advance to a base if the fielder with the ball touches the runner with the ball or glove before the runner reaches the base. The runner must also be tagged out if they are not on a base when a fielder touches the base with the ball in their possession.


Who is out if 2 players occupy the same base and no one is tagged?

Actually they are both safe... for now, but play is still live. The lead runner is safe. The trailing runner has to go back to his previous base before being tagged out or running out of the baseline. Or, the lead runner has to advance to the next base before being tagged out, leaving the trailing runner safe at the double-occupied base.