answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

no

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-08-23 20:39:29
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If the runner first is tagged while still standing on first base following a ground ball is he out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Man at first ground ball first baseman tags first runner does not advance to second stays on first is this a double play?

If the runner remains standing on the bag when the 1st baseman touches the bag and the 1st baseman does not tag the runner prior to touching the bag, then the runner is safe and you have no double play. Answer To clarify, once the Batter becomes a batter-runner, the runner at first loses his right to occupy first base and is forced to advance. If he is tagged while standing on the base, he is out. If the first baseman then steps on first base the Batter-runner is also out -- Double Play. BUT, if the first baseman first steps on the base the batter-runner is out and the force is removed. If the runner standing on first base is now tagged he is safe.


What happens if two runners occupy the same base and are not tagged out?

"If the runner who first occupied that base never left it, he is safe and the second runner is out." That's incorrect. The lead runner is entitled to the base, so if he never leaves it, he is safe. The following runner must be tagged out. If he is able to return to the preceding base without being tagged out or going outside his baseline, he is safe. If the lead runner vacates the double-occupied base and reaches the next base, he is safe and the following runner is safe at the preceding base.


If a runner commits to second base and then returns to first does he need to be tagged out.?

This is not a force play, so the runner would have to be tagged to be Out.


If on a fielders choice the 2nd baseman doesn't touch the base can the runner be out?

If the runner gets tagged, then he is out. If the base doesn't get stepped on or the runner gets tagged, then he is safe.


If the runner is tagged out then the fielder drops the ball and the runner touches the base is he out?

No


Runners on 1st and 2nd ball is hit to shortstop the runner from second to third takes three steps off the bag and goes back to second the shortstop tags runner standing on second and then tags bag?

Runner on first is out. Runner on second is safe because he was tagged while standing on second base.


Does a thrid base runner need to be tagged out if the hitter is tagged out first?

the only way for them to get out is if there tagged so yes


What happens when two runners occupy a base and both are tagged out?

According to MLB Rule 7.03: " Two runners may not occupy a base, but if, while the ball is alive, two runners are touching a base, the following runner shall be out when tagged. The preceding runner is entitled to the base. " If two runners are on a base and both are tagged, the runner that got to the base first is safe and the runner that got to the base second is out.


Does the runner have to be tagged out in softball?

No, unless there's is no force play involved. Meaning, you only tag if the runner is not forced to run to next base. But a runner is automatically out once tagged


In a double play if base nor runner are tagged is runner safe?

Yes, the runner would be safe.


Does the runner have to be tagged out?

Not always. They can be forced out if there is a runner behind them and the fielder tags the base they were running to.


Can a runner from third base score if the batter is tagged out for the third out?

If the batter is tagged out before he reaches first base it is still considered a force out and the runner cannot score, however if the batter crosses first base safely and then is tagged out, the run counts if the third base runner crosses home plate before the batter is tagged out.

People also asked