That depends on whether a runner is forced to vacate a base when a ground ball is hit. If there is a runner on first base and a ground ball is hit, the runner is forced to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. If there is also a runner on second base, that runner is forced to run to third because the runner from first is running to second. If a runner is not forced to run, they do not have to. If there are runners on first base and third base and a ground ball is hit, the runner at first is forced to run to second because the batter is running to first. But the runner on third is not forced to run because no runner is running to third base from second base.
Yes, as long as the batter makes an attempt to get out of the way of the pitch they are awarded first base on a pitched ball that touches the ground and then the batter.
SH in Baseball stands for "Sacrifice Hit" - also known as a Sacrifice Bunt. It is when a batter comes up with a runner or two on base and less than two outs, and intentionally bunts the ball in a way that the fielders have to get him out- which allows the other runners to move up a base or even score. The batter "sacrifices" himself to allow the other runners to advance.
You induce the batter into hitting a ground ball by keeping your pitches low. A low pitch is much more difficult to get under-spin on. Under-spin causes the ball to rise when it is hit. Over-spin makes the ball go down toward the ground...inducing a ground ball in many instances.
If the ball is hit straight back to the pitcher, the throw would always go to first base. The runners on first and second will have been leading off their bases which means they will get to the next base quicker than the batter will get to first base.
there is 12 runners in an olympic relay race
No, when a ball is hit on the ground, the runners must try and advance to the next base.
Yes the ball is dead, and no the runners cannot advance.
Yes, once the foul ball is caught the runners can advance by tagging up
If the ground ball is foul, you are not out. If the ground ball is fair, you are out unless you are touching your base (however, if you are touching your base and in the umpire's judgment you intentionally interfered, you are out). Rule 7.08(f) states: Any runner is out when "he is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching his base when touched by an Infield Fly, he is not out, although the batter is out."
Runners can attempt to advance on a fly out, provided that they tag up (touch the bade they are currently on after the ball is caught).
When the Infield Fly Rule is in effect [see Section 2.00 of the rulebook] the ball is alive, and runners may advance at the risk of the ball being caught, or retouch and advance after the ball is touched, the same as on any fly ball.
If the ball is inaccessible, it is ruled a ground rule double. Runners advance two bases.
The batter may advance three bases if the thrown glove touches a batted ball, and runners may advance three bases. The ball is live and in play.The batter may advance two bases if the thrown glove touches a thrown ball, and runners may advance two bases. The ball is live and in play.
No. On any foul ball that is not caught, the ball is dead and runners may not advance.
When a batter is hit with a ball, it is a dead ball. Runners may advance to the next based only if they are forced to do so (e.g. If there are runners on first and third, only the runner on first may advance because they are 'forced' to go to second. The runner on third remains on third).
If you mean a player on base? When a pitcher drops the ball it is a balk and base runners advance one base.
It is not considered an at bat if it is a fly ball to the outfield or a bunted sacrifice. If it is a ground out and runners advance it is a time at bat.