That would be considered a fielder's choice. Answers.com defines a fielder's choice as:
"A play made on a ground ball in which the fielder chooses to put out an advancing base runner, thus allowing the batter to reach first base safely."
Even though, in your question, the runner was not put out at home the play would be scored a fielder's choice and the batter would be credited with an RBI.
Yes, the batter is credited with an at-bat and scored as a fielders choice.
No hit it is a fielders choice
It isn't a hit. It is a fielders choice.
Anytime the batter is put out at 1st base on a batted ball it is not considered a fielders choice, it is simply a put out. Now in your scenario if the catcher would have thrown home and the runner coming from 3rd is out and the batter is safe at 1st, then in that case it would be a fielders choice
This depends on the situation. If the fielder threw to get the runner out and the batter reached 1st due to this, then it would be considered a sacrafice by ruling it a Fielders Choice, and no hit or error would be charged. If the batter bunted and had good placement and was able to reach 1st due to a good bunt and beating the throw, then it would be considered a hit
Yes. If in the Official Scorer's opinion, the batter would have been out at first base had the fielder chosen to make that play then the play is scored as a fielder's choice. The batter reaches first base safely, but is not credited with a hit and is charged with an at-bat. He's officially 0 for 1 on that play.
If a fielder commits an error on the ball that you hit, you would not receive an at bat (just like getting a walk).errors in baseballNo, errors do nothing to your batting average. Huh?That would depend on the play and situation. If the play was ruled a straight error, like grounding to the shortstop and the shortstop makes a wild throw to first, the batter is charged with an at bat but no base hit. The batter's average would go down. But if the batter gets a base hit to right field and the right fielder boots the ball and the batter makes it to third base, the batter would be credited with a hit and the outfielder would be credited with an error. In that case, the batter's average would go up.
No. This would be a fielders choice and would not count as a hit for the batter.
I AM A COLLEGE BASEBALL PLAYER ALL INFORMATION HERE IS 100% TRUE. A fielders choice does not count as a hit for the batter even though the batter reaches base safely. It counts as an out for the hitters batting average but RBI's, runs scored, stolen bases and any other effects of the batter reaching base safely count. In essence a fielders choice counts as an out because the fielder could have chose to get the batter out or another runner which means there was an out on the play. Also, you cannot assume a double play even if the ball hit was the easiest 4-6-3 which the fielders made an error on.
Yes. There are only a few times that a batter helps a teammate score but does not get an RBI. Example 1: Bases loaded, 0 outs, batter grounds into double play 2nd baseman to first baseman, runner at third scores. The batter is not credited with an RBI. Example 2: Runner on 3rd, 2 outs, batter hits a routine groundball to shortstop, but the shortstop makes an erro. The batter is not credited with an RBI because if the ball was played cleanly the run would not have scored.
No. If an out isn't made on a fielder's choice, it's an error for allowing the other baserunner to reach, but it's still FC for the batter. Say there's a runner on first. The batter hits an easily fielded ground ball to the shortstop, who chooses to attempt to put out the baserunner. That's a fielder's choice for the batter, no matter what happens next. If it's an out (6-4), bad throw (E6), second baseman fumbles it or fails to tag the base (E4A6), it's all the same to the batter.