answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If a ball hits the runner, the runner is out and the play is scored a hit for the batter.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-03-31 15:24:44
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If the ball hits a runner is it a hit or a fielders choice?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

What does fielders choice mean?

The fielder who caught the ball had the option to either get the batter running to first or another runner. Example: With a runner of first the batter hits the ball to the short stop. The short stop choices to throw the ball to second to get the runner out but the batter reaches first base safely.


Runner on second and batter hits grounder to short and throws out runner at third is batter credited with a hit?

No hit it is a fielders choice


If a base runner is hit by a batted ball is he out if it goes past 2 fielders?

A Base runner is out anytime a batted ball hits him, unless he is touching a base.


Is a batter given a hit if he hits a ball to shortstop and shortstop can not throw out hitter but throws out runner at 3rd in a rundown from 2nd base instead of throwing to 1st?

It isn't a hit. It is a fielders choice.


If a batter hits a ball that falls safely in front of the center fielder but the runner at second hesitates and gets thrown out at third should it be considered a fielder's choice and not a hit?

Provided that there were no runner on 1st base and batter reached 1st before runner were tagged out, this is a hit. Batter alreay had first base, runner chose to go to 3rd, not forced. If he were forced, then it is a fielders choice.


What happens to the batter when the ball hits the runner?

If the runner is in fair territory then the runner is out. But if the ball hits the runner in foul territory, then it would just be a foul ball. If the ball hits the runner in fair territory, the runner is out but if the batter is safe to 1st then they would be safe.


Is the ball dead or live when a batter ball hits a runner?

It is a dead ball and the runner is out. If the ball hits two runners, only the first runner is out, because the ball is immediately dead when it hits the first runner.


Does a batter who hits into a fielders choice and has an rbi get credited with an at bat or is it scored like a sacrifice?

Yes, the batter is credited with an at-bat and scored as a fielders choice.


If the ball hits the runner stealing home plate is he out?

No... The base runner is never called out when the ball is thrown and hits the runner ...


Is a runner out if a fielder throws the ball and hits the runner?

No. A runner is out if hit by a batted ball but not out if hit by a thrown ball.


What if ball hits runners?

The runner is out.


If a batted ball hits a runner on third base but the ball hits the runner on the foot which is in foul territory is he still out?

No


When a batted ball hits a runner?

If a batted ball hits a runner, the ball is dead. The runner is out and any other runners return to the base they started on. The batter must re-bat.


How do you score a play when there are runners on 1st and 2nd with 2 out and the batter hits a ball to left field and clearly would be safe but the runner from 2nd is slow and gets thrown out at 3rd?

Its still an out. If the runner is thrown out before reaching the next base it doesn't matter where the ball was hit. In tr same scenario say the barter hits a ball off the outfield wall but the runner at second twists an ankle and hits the ground and is unable to advance, it'd still be a force play and no hit. To answer the question it is scored as a fielders choice or 7-5 FC. The batter is charged with an at bat and not credit with a hit.


What do you call ball that hits the ground and short hops into the fielders glove?

scoop


Is the ball alive or dead when hitting a runner in fair territory?

It depends. Is the ball being thrown or is it hit. If it's hit off the bat and hits a base runner it's a dead ball and the runner is out if the ball has not passed a fielder. If the ball has already passed a fielder then the ball is live and the runner is not out. It is as if it never happened. If it hits the runner when it is thrown it is perceived as if it never hit the runner.


If a batter hits the ball but the runner on third is tagged out how do you score the batter?

I assume you mean if you're score keeping and not saying "How would the batter who becomes a runner be able to score a run on the play." If you're referring to score keeping I believe you would just note that the batter reach first base as a result of the fielders choice by 3Bman. FC - 5.


Does the batter get first base after he hits the ball which hits his runner going to second?

Yes runner is out (unless the ball has already gone by a fielder other than the pitcher), the ball is dead and the batter/runner gets first base.Correction:It is not relevant as if the ball goes past the fielders (only if it touches a fielder first) -- any time a batted ball first hits a runner in fair territory without touching a fielder first -- the runner is out, the putout goes to the nearest fielder, and the batter is still credited with a single and gets 1st baseCorrection to the correction:It does matter if it goes past the fielder first. This is infielders other than the pitcher and catcher. Because the fielders have had the opportunity to make a play on the ball, the ball is no longer dead. The batter would then advance to first at their own risk and the other runners would advance at their own risk too.


Does a batter get credit for hit if the batted ball hits a base runner?

If a batted ball hits a runner in fair territory, the runner is out, and the batter is credited with a single and takes 1st base


Can you charge a hitter with a fielder's choice if there is not a force out at a base?

Yes. For example, runner on 2nd, batter hits ground ball to the shortstop, who, instead of throwing to first, throws to third base in an attempt to get the runner. The batter is charged with reaching first on a fielder's choice, even if the runner is safe or out.


Is a batter charged with an at bat when when bases are loaded. the batter hits the ball to the second baseman who throws home and all players are safe?

Yes. This would be recorded as a single on FC which means Fielders Choice. The fielder could have thrown to first base but he threw home instead so the runner was safe on a FC.


Is it a fielders choice if the out could not be made at first?

If the batter hits the ball, and the result is a force out, then the play is considered a "fielder's choice" no matter how unlikely it would have been for an out to have been made at first base. In the batter's statistics, it is counted as an at bat but not a hit.


What is hitting in softball?

It's when a batter successfully hits a ball to an area where the fielders are not ale to field it


If a batted ball hits a base runner is the batter safe or out?

When a batted ball hits a runner, A) the runner is out for interference, unless B) the ball first touches a defensive player or an umpire, then the runner is not out and the ball is live, unless C) the umpire judges the runner deliberately made contact with the ball, whereupon the umpire may call the runner out for interference and may also call the batter out for the runner's interference.


If a runner on 2b hits a ground ball to pitcher who throws to 2b with runner in a run down runner safely gets back to 2b is it a 1b or a FC since no out was recorded for a FC and no error made?

no errors on the play it would stand as an infield hit It would be a fielders choice. Baseball Rulebook section 10.06(d) A base hit shall not be scored in the following case: When a fielder fails in an attempt to put out a preceding runner, and in the scorer's judgment the batter-runner could have been put out at first base.