answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Only if it is ruled interference by the umpire -- dead ball and runner is out, no other runners advance.... if no interference is called, this is a live ball

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-17 03:42:08
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: A runner is hit by the ball in the back running to first is the ball dead?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Runner on third taking a lead is hit by a thrown ball from catcher while in fair territory is he safe or out?

He is out for interfering with a thrown ball while running out of the baseline. The same is true with a runner running to first base. Tom Seaver said that when he saw a runner running to first in fair territory he would throw the ball into his back to get the quick out.


Do runners have to advance on a ground ball?

That depends on whether a runner is forced to vacate a base when a ground ball is hit. If there is a runner on first base and a ground ball is hit, the runner is forced to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. If there is also a runner on second base, that runner is forced to run to third because the runner from first is running to second. If a runner is not forced to run, they do not have to. If there are runners on first base and third base and a ground ball is hit, the runner at first is forced to run to second because the batter is running to first. But the runner on third is not forced to run because no runner is running to third base from second base.


Pitcher fields ball on the 1st baseline runner runs into pitcher - pitcher throws ball to first is the runner safe or out?

The runner is probably out for interference by running into a fielder, if not, he is out if the throw to first beat the runner and the first baseman, or whom ever is covering first, had his foot on the bag when he received the ball.


If a base runner is hit with the ball thrown by the catcher is the runner out?

The act of hitting a runner with the ball does not generally qualify in and of itself as an out. If the base runner is running legally (e.g. does not interfere), then there is no out, and the ball is live. However, if the batter/runner is running illegally, such as running outside of the 3 foot runner's lane between home and first base, the batter/runner will be out if hit by the catcher's throw. If he is going straight to the base, the runner is not out.


If the runner rounds first base and then wants to go back and the person with the ball tags the base is he out?

No, in that situation the person with the ball would have to tag the runner for the runner to be out.


Runner hits the ball and takes off to first and the first baseman grabs the ball and attempts to tag the runner but the runner takes a step back to home plate. Is the runner considered out?

No the runner is not out unless the first baseman tags him, the first baseman touches the bag before the runner there, or the runner steps out of the baseline. The runner could go back and forth on the base path for as long as he can stay safe. So simply, no the runner is not out yet.


What happens if the ball hits a runner while running?

It depends on who last touched the ball. If the ball was just hit by his team, the runner is out. If the ball was thrown by the other team, it is considered as if he had never touched the ball. This is a generally a negative for the fielding team, since after the ball hits him there's no telling where it will go. There is one exception to this rule, and that is if he is running to first base and he is not running outside the first base line (in foul territory). In that case, he is out. This is the purpose of the second parallel line outside the first base line - to show where the runner must be running in foul territory.


What does fielders choice mean?

The fielder who caught the ball had the option to either get the batter running to first or another runner. Example: With a runner of first the batter hits the ball to the short stop. The short stop choices to throw the ball to second to get the runner out but the batter reaches first base safely.


Is a runner on first out if he makes contact with the 2nd baseman while running to 2nd base on a popup before the 2nd baseman catches the ball with contact occurring after runner reaches 2nd base?

No. A runner is out anytime while running to a base if he makes contact with the ball or the glove that the ball is in. On a pop-fly, a player with the ball only needs to touch the base the runner left from if the runner did not tag-up to the bag after the ball was caught.


Is a base runner out if he leaves first base after being called safe?

In both baseball and softball, a runner is allowed to touch first base and keep on running and then come back to first base. He stays in foul territory. Then he comes back. The umpire calls him safe as long as he gets to the base before the ball does. In both baseball and softball, he comes back to the base. In baseball, he can leave the base, in softball he can not. In softball, he must be on the base while the pitcher has the ball until the ball is almost over home plate. In baseball, he can start running at anytime. If he starts too soon, the catcher can signal him to throw the ball to the first baseman and if the ball gets there, the first baseman will tag him out. It is called a pick off.


Is the ball dead or live when a batter ball hits a runner?

It is a dead ball and the runner is out. If the ball hits two runners, only the first runner is out, because the ball is immediately dead when it hits the first runner.


Is a runner out if he misses first base?

Not immediatly. If you are running to first base and beat the ball there, but you miss the bag, I can tag you out if I have the ball. I CANNOT get you out by tagging first on that play. I have to wait for the next play.


If first base runner is hit in foot by grounder while running to second is he out?

If the ball hits the runner before it passes a defensive player other than the pitcher, he is out. If the ball has passed another player (like the 2nd baseman) and then it hits the runner he is not out.


When there is a person running to 2nd does the 2nd baseman have to have his foot on the base to get the runner out?

if the runner is stealing no but if there was a ground ball and he is running then yes


What is the rule in asa softball if a runner tags base before the flyball is caught?

The runner has to run back to first base before the ball is thrown to get her out. She has to tag back on first no matter if the ball was caught before she tagged second base or not. She has to tag back at first to be able to run to second or she will most likely be out.


Is a runner in softball out for running the bases in reverse or making a travesty of the game?

The ball is dead and the runner is out.


What is the official Scoring when a batter is hit by a ball thrown to 1st base?

It depends on where the batter is in the base path. First base is the only base where there is a running lane for the batter. This is a 3' wide lane to the right of the foul line, off the playing field. If the fielder throws the ball to first base for the putout and the ball hits the runner and prevents a catch by the fielder guarding the base: -- if the runner was running within or to the right (as one looks from home to first) of the runners lane, the ball is dead and the runner is granted first base. This is true even if he falls down and is unable to make it to first before the ball is picked up and relayed to the first baseman. -- if the runner is running outside the runner's lane (usually to the left), and is hit by the thrown ball, he is called out. In fact, if it is a quality throw, he could be called out even if he is not hit with the throw, if in the umpire's judgement he was attempting to interfere with the fielder's attempt to field the throw.


Runner on first pop up to shortstop he catches the ball and then throws the ball out of play with runner on first Where does the runner go?

He stays at first, the shortstop caught the ball and so the batter is out, therefore no one can run. The runner can run from first once he/she has 'tagged up'. Tagged up means that the runner touched first base after the defensive player has caught the ball.


What arm does a running back put the ball in?

That honestly depends on the running back. Most have a preference, though depending on which side of the field or where the lead blocker(s) are positioned can influence the choice of arm. Some have changed arms in mid-play. If the runner is running to the right, the ball goes in the right arm ... to the left, in the left arm. This allows for a lesser chance for the ball to be stripped because the majority of defenders coming to make the tackle are coming towards the arm that the ball is not being carried in. This allows the runner to use the 'free' arm in an attempt to ward off the tackler. The ball carrier will switch the ball from one arm to another after making a cut. A runner running towards the right should have the ball in the right arm. If the runner makes a move and starts running across the field towards the left sideline, they will move the ball to the left arm and use the right arm to ward off a tackler as the tackler will be coming at them from the right side. For running the ball up the middle, it usually goes in the strongest arm or the arm the runner feels most comfortable with. There is no outside arm when running up the middle as tacklers are coming from both the right and the left.


What is a running back in football?

A running back is a position in football in which the ball is hiked to the running back and they then run the ball


Is a runner out if the first baseman has his hand on the ball while the ball is still no the ground but does not lift the ball off the ground?

Yes. They would be out. Think of it like this. If a runner is running home from third and the catcher slides onto the plate with the ball, the runner is still out, even though the catcher is on the ground. As long as the Defensive player has possession of the ball, and is touching the base, the offensive player would be considered out.


Is a runner considered out in baseball if he gets hit by the ball?

yes unless he is standing on the base It is also interference. Y-THINK-Y These answers assume we are talking about a batted ball (not clear from the question). A runner hit by a ball thrown by a fielder is not out, unless his interference with the throw was intentional. It is NOT interference if the ball first passes a fielder other than the pitcher. EXAMPLE: If the runner were to be running behind the fielder, and the ball went through the fielder's legs and hit the runner, the ball is live and there is no interference. A runner hit by a fair batted ball while standing on the base is out.


Does a runner have to leave first base on a ball hit in play?

No. The runner can stay on first base (if the ball is hit in the air and might be caught, for example). However, if the batter passes the runner at first, that runner is called out.


Is the base runner out if the Baseball is kicked by the base runner during play?

If the runner kicks a batted ball, the runner is out. If the ball had been touched by a fielder first, the runner is not out and can continue.


What does throwing out the runner mean?

Throwing out the runner means that the batter hit the ball and a fielder fielded the ball and got the batter out running to first. It could also mean that the catcher threw the ball to second base when a girl was trying to steal and got her out. The same thing applies to third base.