answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Typically an umpire points a finger somewhere, usually up or to their right for a strike, or they'll just raise their hand abruptly. For an out, they'll make a fist, sometimes they'll throw their fist on a tag or a close play.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

The umpire in tennis sits in a high chair on the side of the court near the net and watches the match carefully, calling the ball out when it's out of the court, calling foot faults of the server, etc.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

usually they will only call a strike if the batter checks his swing. since the umpire behind the plate cant see how far his swing goes, he will ask the first or third base umpire depending if he is a right handed batter or a left handed batter.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

when they are un happy with mlb.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

He calls plays and and pitches.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

I think so

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Anonymous

Lvl 1
3y ago

hfum bhgm

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does the umpire decide if a pitch is a ball or a strike?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If a ball is pitched and it crosses the batter at his eyes and then drops into the strike zone is it a strike?

Yes. The umpire calls the pitch by determining if any part of the ball crossed any part of the plate within the strike zone. If the pitch does not cross home plate, the umpire calls a ball. If the pitch crosses any part of home plate, the umpire determines the height of the ball as it crossed the plate. If the beight is within the strike zone, it is called a strike. If it is outside the strike zone, it is called a ball.


What is the ruling for ASA softball on a pitched ball that hits the black part of the plate?

According to the rule book, the umpire will declare the pitch a strike if the ball touches the batter as the batter strikes at the ball, or if the ball touches the batter while the ball is in the strike zone.


When would a umpire give a no ball?

if it's a strike


When you get hit by a pitch in little leagu. your options?

its either the umpire call that runner goes to first if he or she thinks there is no attempt made by the batter. it could be ball 1 or 4 or strike if it cross the strike zone the ball would still be consider dead if the ball is a strike


If a batter steps out of the box without time from the umpire in Florida high school fastpitch softball is it an automatic strike?

No, but the pitcher still can pitch the ball and it is either a called ball or a called strike depending on where it is located on the plate


When can a batter be hit by pitch and not be awarded 1st base?

If a batter is hit by a pitch and the umpire determines he was "leaning over the plate", or "moved into the pitch" then he may not be awarded first base and the pitch will be called a strike or ball


What is the word that the umpire calls when a pitcher throws a strike ball?

The Umpires get together and the Umpire can call interference on himself and the playing running or batting has to redo it


When does a softball umpire call a strike?

an umpire calls a strike when the ball is in the strike zone. personal my strike zone is chest to shin. to call a strike, u raise your right hand up to your ear and make a fist an call out "STRIKE!"


Softball hits umpire in fair territory?

if the umpire is inside the base path, then it is a dead ball... no pitch --- if the umpire is outside the base paths then it is a live ball


Can the umpire call a ball without a pitch being thrown?

No, the umpire can't call a strike or a ball until a pitch is thrown. There is no other play that uses those calls. An umpire can, however, walk the batter without a pitch being thrown if the pitcher attacks him. He can also advance a runner without a pitch being thrown if the pitcher balks. An umpire can, indeed, call a "ball" prior to a pitch. This is part of the rule designed to prevent the "spitball." This is very specifically spelled out in MLB Rule 8.02a. The pitcher may not touch his hand to his mouth while inside the mound, apply any substance to the ball, deface the ball, spit on the ball or his hand, or rub the ball against anything. The penalty is that a ball is called.


In rule 9.02 can the manager of the offensive team request the umpire to ask his partner for help on a half swing when the pitch is called a ball?

the catcher does that he apples to 3rd or 1st ...Answer to the question:First off, why would the offensive manager want to appeal a half swing on a ball? By doing this he is taking the risk that his batter will have a strike called on him!! However, you are looking for an answer to your question. YES, the manager can request the umpire to ask his partner or other umpire for help on an appeal if the original call was a ball (an appeal cannot be made on an original strike call). You were correct, this is all covered in Section 9.02(c) -- The rule is longer then what i have included but this it the part the relates to your question:9.02(c) "The manager or the catcher may request the plate umpire to ask his partner for help on a half swing when the plate umpire calls the pitch a ball, but not when the pitch is called a strike. The manager may not complain that the umpire made an improper call, but only that he did not ask his partner for help...."


If a ball comes to the batter and it's a good ball and it's not swung at is that consided a strike out?

If the pitch is in the strike zone, and the batter does not swing, it is a "strike." If the pitch is not in the strike zone, and the batter does not swing, it is a "ball."