answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If a batter is hit by a pitch and the umpire determines he was "leaning over the plate", or "moved into the pitch" then he may not be awarded first base and the pitch will be called a strike or ball

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-05-04 17:12:35
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When can a batter be hit by pitch and not be awarded 1st base?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is A batter who walks and continues to second a stolen base?

Yes it is, because he was only awarded a trip to 1st base not 2nd.


The ball hits the ground then hits batter does the batter get first base?

The batter does not get first base. They only get first when it hits them directly. WRONG! Rule 2.0 states that a ball which hits the ground first then hits the batter is ruled a hit batsman, and he is awarded 1st base.


Is it a hit in softball if you hit the runner and reach 1st base safely?

If a fair batted ball touches a runner in fair territory, it's interference, the runner is Out, the batter is awarded a hit and given 1B, and all runners must return to the bases they occupied at the time of the pitch, unless forced to advance by the batter being awarded 1B.


When a batter gets hit by a pitch is it an automatic dead ball?

Yes, it is a dead ball and the batter gets a free base (He/she gets to go to 1st)


Batter awarded first base on balls is running outside the running lane catcher throws to first and hits the runner is the runner out on interference?

nothing, on a base on balls the runner is awarded 1st base so he will not get out unless he goes to 2nd or makes an attempt to 2nd and is tagged out.


Minor ball tourney -- batter is awarded base on balls --- runner advances to 1st base and advances to second without stopping at first - is this legal-what if he stops at first and then goes to 2?

yes he can do it


Can a manager substitute a pitcher after he has thrown a pitch to a batter?

Yes, if the batter was retired with that 1 pitch or got on base or was hit by the pitch. In other words if that batter is no longer up or if this was not the 1st batter the pitcher has faced and the pitcher threw a strike or a ball then the manager could take him out or if the pitcher suffered an injury with that one pitch. If the pitcher comes into a game and throws only one pitch and the batter is still up and there is no injury to the pitcher, then the pitcher must pitch to the batter till he is retired or reaches base on a hit, walk, error, fielders choice, etc.


23 ways to get to first base?

This is based on the official Major League Baseball rules, available at http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/official_info/official_rules/foreword.jsp1) A batter is awarded first base for receiving 4 balls.2) A number of infractions by the pitcher can result in a ball being awarded to the batter. If this is ball 4, the batter is awarded first base. Rules 8.01 and 8.02 list illegal actions by the pitcher, including bringing his hand to his mouth and defacing the ball.3) A ball hit into play allows the runner to advance to first base on a hit.4) A ball hit into play allows the runner to advance to first base on an error.5) If the batter or his clothing or equipment is hit by a pitch, and he made an effort to avoid the pitch and did not swing at it, he is awarded first base.6) Interference by the catcher can result in the batter being awarded first base. For example, squatting too close to the batters box and interfering with the batter's swing is catcher interference.7) Interference by a spectator can result in the batter being awarded first base if the umpires believe that the batter would have reached first base without the interference.8) On a dropped third strike, the batter-runner may advance to first base.9) If a pitched ball lodges in the umpire’s or catcher’s mask or paraphernalia, and remains out of play, on the third strike or fourth ball, then the batter is entitled to first base and all runners advance one base. From rule 5.09.10) A particular park may have ground rules that grant a batter a single if the ball is hit in a certain place.11) In some situations a player may reach first base as a substitute for another play who was injured. Rule 5.10.12-23) ...


Can a runner advance to second base if he was walked?

Yes. If the batter is walked and the 4th ball is a wild pitch or passed ball, the batter may attempt to take an extra base.There is no rule in baseball that requires a batter that is walked to stop at 1st base.


Is it a base hitif batted ball hits umpire in infieldcalled a dead ball?

Yes. Ball is dead. Batter is awarded 1st and all runners advance 1 base. Rule 5.09 (f)


If the base runner gets hit with the grounded ball do the remaining base runners remain where they are?

The base runner is out that got hit with the ball as long as he is in fair territory. At this point the ball is considered dead and the runners would go to the base they should be at. Example: Runners at 1st and 2nd. Guy on 2nd running toward 3rd after ball is hit, he is hit. He is out. Runner at 1st is awarded 2nd, batter is awarded 1st and the ball is dead.


If a batter reaches 1st base on an error and a runner scores because of her hit does she earn an rbi even though she received a base because of an error?

Yes, she would get an RBI, but the run would be unearned to the pitcher, since the batter who scored didn't "earn" her way on base. Generally the batter is not awarded an RBI if a runner scores when the BATTER reaches on an error, if if he hits into a double play.

People also asked