Best Answer

No. In no situation can a batter be credited with a base hit if a runner is forced out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-05-01 23:44:28
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does the hitter get credited for a single if he makes a ground ball hit to the outfield and the runner at first gets forced out at second base?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

There is a runner on 1st base with 1 out Next batter hits a ground ball to the outfield and reaches first base and runner is out at second base Does the hitter ger credited for a single?

That would depend on how the runner was retired at second base. For example, if the runner slipped and fell on his way to second base and the outfielder had the time to throw him out on a force play, the batter would not get credited with a base hit. If the runner made it to second base safely and then slipped rounding the bag and the outfielder threw to second base and the runner was tagged out, the batter would be credited with a base hit. If a runner is forced out at any base, regardless of where the ball was hit, the batter is not credited with a base hit.

What is a ground out in softball?

A ground out is when the hitter hits a ground ball to a fielder and they throw her out at first base.

Does a hitter gain an RBI for himself when he hits a home run?

Yes. He gets credited for batting himself in.

Do errors and fielders choice factor into batting average?

Yes, if a hitter hits into a fielder's choice he gets credited for an at-bat and is NOT credited with a hit. Whether its an error or a fielder's choice the players batting average WILL decrease

An injured hitter is replaced during an at bat and the sub gets a hit whose hit is it?

The base hit is credited to the replacement batter.

When a hitter gets a single yet advances all the way home on overthrows and there is a runner on base that also scores does the hitter receive any RBI's?

The batter could be credited with an RBI if, in the scorers judgment the base runner would have scored had there not been any overthrows (errors). For example, the batten singles and the runner is on third and scores, then the overthrows occur. The batter is credited with one RBI. In your original question, the batter would, in no case, be credited with an RBI on his own score.

If a ball is hit to the outfield with batters at first and second and the runner gets out at third is it a fielders choice?

no, the fielder had no choice to throw out the hitter at first.

If runner on 1ST but attempting to steal 2ND and more than half way to 2ND then batter strikes a fair ball which bounces over the outfield fence is the runner entitled to home?

It would be a ground rule double and the runner from first would go to third base and the hitter would go to second.

What position did Babe Ruth play in his career?

Babe Ruth started as a pitcher, and was moved to the outfield when he became a primary hitter. He occasionally played first base.

Do catchers get put outs for strikeouts?

Yes. A catcher gets credited with the putout on a strikeout if the ball is caught cleanly. In the event of a dropped third strike, if the catcher tags the hitter, he again gets credited with the putout. If the third strike is dropped and the catcher must throw down to first, the catcher gets credited with an assist and the first baseman gets credited with the putout. In no case would the pitcher get credit for the putout or assist. Source: MLB Official Rule 10.09b

If a baseball team loses 1-0 but the losing pitcher has no earned runs is he still credited with an L?

Yes! A loss is still a loss regardless how it happens. That pitcher could ALSO be credited with a no hitter if the run that scored was a result of errors and walks, and no batter successfully hit onto base.

In fastpitch softball if a courtesy runner ends up scoring who is credited with the run the original batter or the courtesy runner?

The hitter gets an RBI ( run batted in) but the runner gets the credit

People also asked