Best Answer

Appeals are continuation plays -- thus, in this instance, the runner that was on 1st his run would count and the batter would be called out ---- now if this occurred with 2 outs then neither of the runs would count since the batter never technically reached 1st safely it would not be a hit and would result in any other situation where a runner crossed the plate but the batter was retired at 1st

User Avatar

Wiki User

2010-06-17 03:27:07
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides


1 card


See all cards
3 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Man on first with one out and batter hits home run The batter misses first and defensive team appeals Batter is called out Does the first run count or is the ball dead and he returns to first?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

When a batter bats out of order who is out the impropper batter or the the right batter?

the proper batter. Let's say batter 2 is supposed to be up but batter 3 bats instead. If the defensive team calls attention to the fact before he finishes his at bat - the batter 2 will bat and resume the count batter 3 had Now suppose batter 3 got a single and the defensive team called it to the umpires attention then batter 2 would be declared out and batter 3 would then bat again as he is thescheduled hitter. If the defensive team did not catch the batting out of order infraction before the first pitch to the next batter -which is batter 4- then batter 4 would be the legal batter

If a batter hits a triple and misses second base and the defense appeals and the batter is called out how is that scored?

It is scored as a single, out at second.

Is runner to 3rd or batter out when batter interfers with throw to 3rd base?

Runner returns to prior base.

Batter hits home run but does not touch second base?

If the defensive team properly appeals that the batter missed touching second base, he is called out on appeal, and his run does not count. However, any other runners on base at the time of the home run would score.

In baseball how close can a defensive player be to a batter during a pitch?

The closest fielders can be is if the batter bunts 1st and 3rd charge up.If the batter doesnt bunt,on the grass.

If a foul hit is caught then the batter is out?

Yes. If a foul ball is caught by a defensive player before it hits the ground the batter is out.

What is the official scoring for the batter if he is hit in fair territory by his own batted ball?

That batter would be called out. If the ball goes directly from his bat to hitting the batter when they are not in the batters box, the batter is out. If a defensive player deflects the ball before it touches the batter then play continues as normal.

Batter hits ball in the batters box?

If the batter makes contact with a batted ball while in the batter's box, it is a "dead" ball and declared foul. ---------- True enough, sort of. If a batted ball touches the batter while he is still in the batter's box, then it is foul. However, if the batter hits the ball, and it comes to rest in the batter's box or the batted ball is touched by a defensivce player while it is in the batter's box, and the ball did not touch the batter, it is either fair or foul, depending on the position of the ball at the time it came to rest or was touched by a defensive player. The front portion of the batter's box is in fair territory, and if a batted ball comes to rest or is touched by a defensive player in that part of the batter's box, then it's a fair ball.

With a runner on third batter swings and misses on the third strike and the ball hits the batter the runner on third crosses homeplate when the ball bounces away from the catcher Does the run score?

Batter is out, the ball is dead when it hits the batter. Runner at third returns to third.

What is the ruling if an offensive player kicks a batted ball in play in baseball?

If the batter intentionally or accidently kicks the ball, he is considered out. Any contact after a batted ball by the batter is an out. See the rules, 6 (batter), and 7 (runner) in the link below. Keep in mind that the offensive players on the field are the batter and runners. If the ball makes incidental contact with an offensive player (as opposed to intentional on the part of a defensive player) before the ball contacts a defensive player, the offensive player is out. One exception to this is when a ball contacts a batter in the batter's box, provided the batter is not swinging on a third strike, in which case he is out. Ball contact with the batter mean he takes first, with the one exception of course.

In little league you have a batter in full count and change pitcher the new pitcher threw one strike and the batter is out who is responsible for that defensive out?

In any league, the last pitcher to pitch the ball is responsible for that batter. If he strikes him out, the credit goes to him, regardless of how many pitches he throws.

Batter hits a pitch and the ball bounces and hits the batter is he out?

If the batter is in fair territory, the batter is out. If the batter is not in fair territory, for example the batter is still in the batter's box, the ball is called foul.

People also asked