The batter watches a strike go by and doesn't swing the bat. A batter swings at a strike and misses. A batter swings at a ball and misses. A batter could also attempt to bunt on the third strike, bunting it foul would lead to the batter being called out.
The catcher throws to thr pitcher or if he misses the ball he throws it first to get tjr batter out because if if the batter strikes out and the catcher misses the ball the runner can run.
Baseball is a game of balls and strikes: the pitcher throws the ball, and the batter tries to hit it. If the batter swings at the ball and misses, that is called a strike. A batter gets three strikes (three efforts to swing at the ball) before being called "out."
the batter advances to first base
The batter can make an attempt to reach first, but if the ball is fouled off by the batter, the batter is out (strike out).
No. There is no rule prohibiting the batter from stepping on home plate.
It is scored as a single, out at second.
No, this is an appeal call only. This is not the umpires call unless asked on appeal.
Since "Appeals" are extensions of the play. All runs scored would count, and the batter would be credited with a single, since that was the last base he reached safely and the inning would be over (as this would be the 3rd out), now if he missed 1st base, then no runs would count as he never reached base safely, This would be the case even if he hit a homerun.
A strike in softball is when a pitcher pitches a softball to the batter [located in the batter box in front of the catcher] and the batter misses. When it is a strike, it is thrown in a particular area from the batter's armpits to the bottom of their knees.
if the batter swings and misses or if the pitch is between the chest and kness
The out will be credited to the fielder that tagged the base on the appeal. Example: runner misses 3rd base, defensive team appeals by throwing to 3rd base, 3rd baseman tags 3rd base, umpire calls the runner out, 3rd baseman is credited with the out.
If the batter is hit in the arm while swinging and he misses the ball the call is a strike.
runner swings and misses a wild pitch or passed ball and reaches first before tagged or forced out....counts as a K though batter is at first
Its a strike
its a hit if its lands in far ground or foul it not
If the player misses first base, it would simply be ruled a putout. If the ball was to center, and thrown directly to the first baseman, the score would be an 8-3 putout.
YES he can be called out on an appeal... this would be the same as if a home was hit and the runner had not tagged first base ...
yes, unless first base is occupied.
Either a Strike or a Ball. Depending on your where the ball ends up.
If a punter misses a kick it is a live ball. If the kicking team recovers, they turn the ball over on downs. (Assuming they are unable to recover the ball and covet.) If the defending team recovers it plays out the same way as a traditional fumble would.
Batter is out, the ball is dead when it hits the batter. Runner at third returns to third.