answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, the catcher (or any other player) can choose not to throw to a base at any time, regardless of whether a runner is going there. If the catcher knows he can't get a stealing runner out, he will most likely not throw to avoid the risk of an error.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-08-14 08:15:03
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does catcher have to throw at base that is being stealed on?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

What constitutes batter interference when a catcher throws to third base attempting to throw out a base stealer?

If the batter attempts to block the catcher from throwing to third base, or if the batters obstructs the catcher in the process of throwing to third base.


How Can a baseball player run towards first base after he strikes out?

if the player strikes out and the catcher drops the ball, the player tries to beat the catcher's throw to first base. If he reaches first before being tagged or thrown out at first, he is awarded first base.


What is batters interference?

Batter's interference is when the batter interferes with the catcher's ability to throw and catch a ball that is in play. An example of this is if the batter were to obstruct the catcher when a teammate is stealing a base, resulting in the catcher's inability to throw out the runner.


How far does a catcher have to throw in order to reach second base in little league baseball?

he has to throw 112 feet


What is a throw by the pitcher or catcher to catch a runner off base?

pick off


How far does a catcher have to throw to catch someone stealing second base?

135 feet


What is catcher pop time?

Catcher pop time is the time it takes for a catcher to come out of his crouch after receiving the pitch (like if he was going to try and throw a runner out at second base).


How fast does a catcher throw a ball?

Generally speaking a catcher throws back to the pitcher, each pitch he catches. This throw however, is a direct, straight one, but has a velocity 75 miles per hour or less. The catcher's most throws travel a short distance to the pitcher who stands 50 feet 7 inches away ( generally ) However, often times a catcher is involved in a "live" throw which is thrown to stop a base-runner from stealing base, or the catcher is throwing the ball to one of his fellow players in an ongoing play that requires him to throw with accuracy and good speed. In such situations, the catcher may throw a baseball anywhere between 75 to 85 miles per hour.


What a catcher gives a pitcher?

A catcher tells the pitcher what kinds of pitches to throw. Also, if the pitcher throws a bad pitch, the catcher can prevent the keep the ball close to prevent any base runner advancements.


If catcher drops the ball can the batter run to first?

Only on a third strike with 1st base un-occupied. This does not apply to Little League. Note: he is entitled to TRY to run to first base. He can be thrown out by the catcher if the throw reaches the baseman before the runner. If he beats the throw, then he is safe. The pitcher is given credit for a strikeout. The catcher is given an error.


Define a stolen base in softball?

when a baserunner decides to sprint to the next base right after the pitcher releases the ball. It is a risk. But once the catcher catches the ball that was just pitched, the catcher can very quickly decide to throw the ball to the base and try to get the baserunner, or stealer, out.


How far from home plate to second base for a throw from catcher girls fastpitch softball?

Approx. 93 feet from the point of the plate to the center of second base.


What is agood time for a high school catcher to throw a softball to second base?

Runner attempting a steal from first, or a runner caught returning to second base.


Can a batter be called out on ball 4 for interfering with a catcher's throw?

In a normal Base On Balls call, the catcher wouldn't have to throw the ball. If it's a passed ball or a wild pitch, the batter is still awarded first base and can't do anything else. If there are other runners and they try to advance and the batter interferes after that, he is certainly called out and the runner will have to go back to the base he started from. But on a normal base on balls, the ball is dead and the runners would only advance if they were forced and the catcher wouldn't have to throw the ball anywhere except to the pitcher.


Why do they not throw it to the first baseman after a strike out?

It's supposedly considered bad luck. I think some of it applies to practice as well. When a pitcher is warming up on the mound, he will signal the catcher when he's going to throw one more pitch. After that pitch, the catcher might take a practice throw toward second base. Since most catchers are right-handed, it's much easier for him to throw to third after a strike out, anyway. It is good practice to get that throw to third base in case of a steal, and it's the only time during the game that a catcher can practice it.


When a runner is on first and third and the runner on first advances to second with out a throw from the catcher is the runner credited with a stolen base?

yes


How far does a catcher have to throw in order to reach second base in major league baseball?

A little over 127 feet.


The base-path of a baseball diamond form a squarei f it is 90ft from home to first how far does the catcher have to throw to catch someone stealing second base?

127ft


Has anyone ever stole 1st base in a baseball game?

Germany Schaefer stole first base. On Aug. 4, 1911, playing for the Washington Senators, Schaefer stole second base conventionally, hoping to draw a throw from the catcher so a teammate could steal home. The catcher didn't throw, so on the next pitch Schaefer ran back to first.


How do you do stealing in baseball?

You start running when the pitcher pitches the ball and then you make it to the bag before the catcher can throw it to the base you are trying to steal.


Umpire calls a batter out and catcher drops the ball and batter advances to first is he safe or out at first?

If he is called out on strikes and the catcher drops the ball, the batter may try to run to first base. In order to be put out, the catcher must throw the ball and get him out at first before he gets to the base. If the runner beats the throw, then the runner is safe. The pitcher is given credit for a strikeout. The catcher is given an error. This is how pitchers can have 4 strikeouts in an inning, which happened in MLB this week.


What Ways can you get to first base in softball?

There are several different ways to get to first base. One is if you hit the ball and make it safely to first without getting tagged or thrown out. Another way is being walked. This means the pitcher throws you 4 balls. In some leagues, if you strike out and the catcher drops the third strike, you can also run to first. This can only happen when there is no one on first base. The catcher can tag you or throw you out.


Bases are loaded ground ball to third the throw goes home for a force out the catcher throws back to third base is it a force or a tag play?

It is a force in the same way first base is forced after an out at second. This play, in reality, would probably never happen, as the catcher would usually just throw it to first to ensure two outs on the play.


How is it scored when the batter strikes out but the catcher drops the ball and the batter advances to first?

In the event of a batter striking out but the Catcher dropping the ball and the batter advancing to first base, it will be ruled as a strike out however it will also be ruled as a passed ball for allowing the batter to reach base. Generally speaking, in most cases the catcher will throw the ball to first base before the batter gets there. In that situation, the put out is given to the first baseman & the catcher receives an assist.


Do you run on the third strike if first base is not occupied?

If the catcher doesnt cleaning catch the 3rd strike (it hits the dirt), then you can run to 1st, the catcher will have to tag or throw to 1st to get you out. This rule applies if there are less then 2 outs and 1st base is not occupied, if there are 2 outs, then you can run even if 1st base is occupied