MLB Rule 10.02(a)(1)(iv) states: No time at bat shall be charged when a player is awarded first base because of interference.
THIS IS NOT THE ANSWER AS IT DOES NOT ADDRESS THE QUESTION.
The correct answer is that the batter gets credited for a single. See the following rule:
rule 10.05 a base hit shall be scored in the following cases:(e) when a fair ball which has not been touched by a fielder touches a runner or an umpire. EXCEPTION: Do not score a hit when a runner is called out for having been touched by an infield fly. (in this instance, the batter would have been automatically out on the infield fly rule)
No. In no situation can a batter be credited with a base hit if a runner is forced out.
Yes, he gets credit for the runner on base and batting "himself" in.
No anybody that's on because of an error is an unearned run no matter how they score
If a batted ball hits a runner in fair territory, the runner is out, and the batter is credited with a single and takes 1st base
He does if he can get back and touch it in time before a fielder does. If the runner makes no attempt to return to the base and a fielder touches it and appeals, the runner is out.
The batter can make an attempt to reach first, but if the ball is fouled off by the batter, the batter is out (strike out).
Yes they get the credit
Yes, the play ends, the batter is awarded first base, and the runner that was hit is automatically out.
Baseball. A "walk" occurs when, in the umpire's judgement, the pitcher misses the "strike zone" with four throws to a single batter. The batter is then awarded first base.
When pertaining to any sports first offensive play: hockey's first shot, football's first pass or baseball's first basehit of a game.
No one, unless it is what is called a one and one, meaning if the player misses the first freethrow he does not get a second one. this is most apparent in the college game. Other than that, no one.
Then the 2 runs that scored wouldn't count!
Appeals are continuation plays -- thus, in this instance, the runner that was on 1st his run would count and the batter would be called out ---- now if this occurred with 2 outs then neither of the runs would count since the batter never technically reached 1st safely it would not be a hit and would result in any other situation where a runner crossed the plate but the batter was retired at 1st
It would be an out if the fielding team tagged the bag before the runner. However; if the picture threw a pitch to the next batter it would be a hit.
Well, first of all, a dropped third strike is an out if the catcher's throw beats the runner. It's that way because that's just the rule.