answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes. However, the opponent usually has some piece protecting it.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2010-01-04 23:22:30
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Can you castle through check

What is the notation of kingside castling

➑️
See all cards
4.0
β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…
1 Review

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can you take the chess piece that has you in check with the king?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is there a rule in chess that if they don't say check you can take there piece?

No , there's not a rule in the game of chess that requires a player to forfeit a chess piece if they do not place the king in check at every opportunity to do so .


What chess piece can take the chess king?

Other than the opposing king , any chess piece has the power and the ability to capture the opponent's king . A king may not take another king because it is in contradiction of the rules where a king may not move into check ~ see related link below .


Can you use some other pieces in chess to prevent check?

Yes, if the king is in check, the next move must take the king out of check. You do not necessarily have to move the king, you could take the attacking piece, or block the check by moving a piece in the way.


Can a king take a non-threatening piece?

The king in chess may capture any other chess piece except the enemy king .


Can a queen take a queen in the game of chess?

Yes, any piece can take any other piece. ------------------- Actually - a King cant take a King because to get within one square the king would be putting himself in "check"


Can any chess piece take queen in legal move?

Yes, any piece can take a queen. The only time a King could do it is to get himself out of the queen's check.


Can a king take another piece in chess?

Yes, the King may take other pieces.


When a king is in check are you onlu allowed to move it or can another piece take it?

You are not allowed to move that piece because it goes against the chess rules in the book i am reading.


Do you have to take your opponent's piece in chess if you have the opportunity?

No. You are not forced to take a piece unless it's the only possible move, the most likely situation for that is when it's the only way to get the king out of check.


Can the king knock out the queen in chess?

Yes. If the queen moves within one space of the king, the king is technically in check. If no other piece covers the space on which the queen rests, the king may take the queen to resolve the check. A king can only take the queen if the queen is opposite color of the king and the queen is not guarded by another piece.


How many checks do you have to make to kill a king?

You don't take/kill a king in chess. You have to put it into checkmate, ie, there are no moves the opponent can make with any piece, to take the king out of check. When this happens, the game is over.


Can a king kill any time in chess or does it have to be in check to capture?

The king can take another piece anytime, but it is not smart to do so until perhaps the last moves of the game, if at all.

People also asked