answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

He can. But it would only be a sacrifice fly if someone scored on the play. So there would likely be runners on first and third or bases loaded.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-05-13 03:55:37
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a runner run from first base on a sacrifice fly?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Is it possible to hit a sac fly when there is only one runner on first base?

No. For it to be a sacrifice fly, a runner must score.


How is a sacrifice fly different from a sacrifice bunt?

A sacrifice fly is a fly ball that is caught for an Out, but that allows a runner to tag up and score. A sacrifice bunt is a ball that is "tapped" with the intent of sacrificing an Out (the batter) to advance the runner or runners on base.


What is a sacrifice fly?

It is a fly ball that's hit deep enough to the outfield so a base runner can successfully advance to the next base. The batter is not charged with an at bat, but credited with a sacrifice and does not effect his batting average..When a runner is on 3rd and scores on the play, an RBI is credited to the batter.


Runner advances a base on a fly ball but not from third Sac or not?

no it is not a sacrifice- just a regular at bat and fly out


Was it ever a sacrifice fly when a runner moved up a base on an out?

MLB Rule 10.08d is pretty clear: "Score a sacrifice fly when, before two are out, the batter hits a ball in flight handled by an outfielder or an infielder running in the outfield in fair or foul territory that (1) is caught, and a runner scores after the catch, or (2) is dropped, and a runner scores, if in the scorer's judgment the runner could have scored after the catch had the fly been caught. Thus, if a base runner advances to another base after tagging up but does not score, it is a fly out, but NOT a sacrifice fly.


Can a pop fly be a sacrifice if its hit into foul territory?

It would depend on where the base runner is .... if the runner is on 1st or 2nd then NO... but if the runner is on 3rd and scores then YES ...


Is a ground ball hit to the right side that advances the runner considered a sacrifice or does it have to be a bunt to be a sacrifice?

No, it is not considered a sacrifice unless the batter is advanced as a result of a bunt. Also, a fly ball that is caught is only considered a sacrifice if a runner tags and scores on the play. If a runner tags at 1B or 2B on the caught fly ball, and advances one base, it is not considered a sacrifice fly.


If a batter reaches base on an error is it an official at bat?

Yes. The only time it is not an official "At Bat", is if a batter reaches base on a base on balls, hit by pitch or catcher interference. A batter is also not charged with an "At Bat" if he hits a sacrifice fly (a fly ball out that results in a runner tagging up and scoring), or a sacrifice bunt that advances a runner or runners. He is also not charged with an "At Bat" if the batter reaches base as a result of an error on a sacrifice fly or sacrifice bunt.


If you hit a very deep fly ball and a runner on second base tags and scores from second is it a sacrifice fly?

yaa


Is it scored a sacrifice if you score a runner from third on a ground out to second base?

No. A sacrifice is only recorded on a fly ball or a bunt. There is no such thing as a "sacrifice ground out".


Can a foul ball ever be a sacrifice fly?

yes, if it is a fly ball and it gets caught, any base runner can try to go to the next base. for example, a runner on third tags up on a fly ball. the right fielder catches it in foul territory. as long as the runner on third is on the base or goes back and touches it after leading off, she can try to steal home.


What is a long fly ball allowing a runner on third base to score?

If the ball is caught and there is less than 2 outs and it is deep enough for the runner to score it is called a sacrifice fly ball


Does a sacrifice fly that advances a runner from second to third count as an at bat?

A fly ball that advances a runner from second to third is not counted as a sacrifice fly, and it does count as an at bat. Unless a runner scores on a fly ball, the batter is charged with an at bat.


What is the call if you have runners on second and third with one out and a fly ball is hit to the outfield and is caught. The runner on third base tags up and scores. The runner on second base does n?

It's a sacrifice fly. The batter is credited with an RBI, and the at-bat does not count against his batting average. The runner on second is inconsequential to the scoring decision.


What is an sacrifice fly in softball?

A sacrifice fly in softball is when they batter sacrifices themselves (meaning they are getting an out) to score the runner or to move the runner into scoring position.


Is it scored a sacrifice fly if you move a runner up but don' t score him?

AnswerNo. Unless the runner scores, it is NOT a sacrafice fly. If a batter flies out while a runner is on either 1st or 2nd base, tags up and advances to the next base, it is simply ruled as a flyout with the runner advancing, and the "at bat" will still be charged to the batter. A sacrafice fly scores the runner after he tags up, the batter does not get charged with an "at bat", and he also gets credit for a run batted in (RBI).I disagree. If a batter bunts and the runner advances, it is a sacrifice. So it would stand to reason that if you fly out, and the runner advances, then it would be as well.To Above:It's not a matter of disagreeing, it's a matter of MLB rules as designated by the rulebook. A sacrifice fly is not the same as a sacrifice bunt, a hit is only a sacrifice fly if the runner can tag and score. The reason being that a sacrifice fly is not scored as an official at-bat due to it's strategic value, thus it doesn't count against your batting average; since it's impossible to determine whether or not a batter is going long for strategy, or just swinging for the bleachers, you thus only get the sacrifice if the runner scores, all other fly-balls count against your average. A bunt is far more obvious in it's intent to move a runner, thus a bunt that moves a runner is a sacrifice.


When can a baseman tag the base for an out?

There are two situations when a baseman can tag the base for an out.The first is the force out. A force out happens when a baseman tags the base of the only possible location for the runner. For example, if a batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman, the first baseman only needs to tag first base because it is the runner's only possible destination. Also, if there was a runner on first base and a ground ball was hit, there would be a force out at both second and first base because they runner on first base would be forced to progress one base. With a man on first and second base, you can force at first, second and third, and with the bases loaded, there is a force at every base. If there is a runner on second and/or third, but not first, the runners are not required to progress one base, so there is only a force at first.The second is on the fly ball. If a fly ball is caught, a base runner must touch the base again ("tag up") before moving on to the next base. If they do not tag up after the ball is caught, the baseman at the base from which they left can tag that base for the out. For example, if there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a fly ball, and that ball is caught, the runner must touch the base after the ball is caught before he can leave for the next base. If he doesn't touch the base after the ball is caught, the baseman only need tag the base while holding the ball for the out.


Does a sacrifice fly have to caught in fair territory?

yes a sacrifice fly must be caught in fair territory. if it is not in fair territory when caught runners can not advance. and the base runner must also tag up after the ball is caught


Does the batter get a sacrifice if the runner on first tags and goes to second?

Yes as long as the runner advances Assuming you mean the runner tags up on a fly ball and advances to second, it is not scored as a sacrifice, but, simply as a fly out and the batter is charged with a time at bat. If the batter bunt a ground ball, the runner would not be required to "tag up" to advance and the batter would be credited with a sacrifice. If the batter is attempting a sacrifice bunt and pops up and the runner, tags up and somehow advances to second the batter is not credited with a sacrifice.


How can people get out in softball?

To get someone out in softball the pitcher can strike them out. They can hit a pop-fly that is caught. The ball can beat the runner to first base by a defensive player tagging that base before the runner gets there. If the runner runs into a defensive player who is making the initial play on the ball, the runner is out. The runner could be tagged out before they touch the base.


Can a runner score on a fly ball if the other runner doesn't?

Sure. The runner on 3rd base can tag up and score. The runner on 2nd may not even be able to advance to 3rd base, especially if the fly ball is to left field. To further clarify..a base runner may not pass another base runner who is ahead of him..so, if your question means can a runner on 2nd or 1st, tag up and score if the runner on third doesn't, the simple answer is no...however, in a rare case they could. Let's assume that the runner on third tags up, but is thrown out at home and it is not the 3rd out of the inning, then the catcher either throws the ball away, or otherwise loses the ball, the other runner or runners may then advance and score. The batter, though, is not credited with a Sacrifice Fly, nor an RBI.


A sacrifice made by hitting a long fly ball allowing a base runner on third base to score a run after the ball is caught?

Not quite sure if you're asking if that is called a sacrifice or if you're asking how it's done?If you're asking if it is a sacrifice, then yes, that is a sacrifice fly.If you're asking how it's done? I can tell you the fielder must catch the ball before the runner on third can take his foot off of the bag, otherwise he has to go back to third (tag up) then try to score.Sacrifice fly


Baseball runner on first base fly ball is caught in field of play by first baseman but first baseman then falls out of field of play how many bases does runner on first advance one or two bases?

There is no free base or "advancing" by rule based on this play. Runner tries to advance at his or her own discretion if they take up.


What is ruling for sac fly in slow pitch softball when fielder bobbles ball?

A sacrifice fly is credited to the batter only if a run scores. A runner who moves from second to third base does not result in a sacrifice fly for the batter. A sacrifice fly is not counted as a time at bat [batter is 0 for 0] and the batter is credited with [at least 1] a run batted in. The bobble is a moot point as the runner can tag up and run upon the first touch by the fielder. Otherwise, an outfielder could intentionally bobble/juggle a ball all the way back to the infield.


What happens when a fly ball hit to the first baseman is dropped with a runner on first base?

Nothing in your situation. Only maybe if there is less than two outs and at least another runner on second. If there is less than two outs, the infield fly rule applies. The runner should stay on first base. The batsman would be out anyway. That is the purpose of the infield fly rule. It was put in when Ty Cobb had a similar situation. He was playing short stop. There were runners on first and second. A batter hit a pop up toward him. He yelled, "I got it." The runners stayed on first and second. He dropped the ball. Tagged the runner on second. Stepped on the base, and threw the ball to first for a triple play. Then baseball put in the infield fly rule. If there is a popup in the infield with zero or 1 outs, and runners on base that would be forced out, the batter is out and the runner should not advance.