answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

yaa

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-10-07 15:02:56
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If you hit a very deep fly ball and a runner on second base tags and scores from second is it a sacrifice fly?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Does a sacrifice fly that advances a runner from second to third count as an at bat?

A fly ball that advances a runner from second to third is not counted as a sacrifice fly, and it does count as an at bat. Unless a runner scores on a fly ball, the batter is charged with an at bat.


Is a ground ball hit to the right side that advances the runner considered a sacrifice or does it have to be a bunt to be a sacrifice?

No, it is not considered a sacrifice unless the batter is advanced as a result of a bunt. Also, a fly ball that is caught is only considered a sacrifice if a runner tags and scores on the play. If a runner tags at 1B or 2B on the caught fly ball, and advances one base, it is not considered a sacrifice fly.


What is the call if you have runners on second and third with one out and a fly ball is hit to the outfield and is caught. The runner on third base tags up and scores. The runner on second base does n?

It's a sacrifice fly. The batter is credited with an RBI, and the at-bat does not count against his batting average. The runner on second is inconsequential to the scoring decision.


Is it a sacrifice fly if it is a foul ball and the foul ball is caught?

No. But it is an RBI if a runner scores on the play.But if he doesn't tag up he's out if they throw it to the base he was at.


How can a runner score from third without a hit and two outs?

1. A passed ball on a pitch, and runner scores. 2. A 3rd strike and catcher misses the ball, overthrowing at first, runner scores. 3. A squeeze play, missed bunt, with catcher missing the ball, runner scores.


There is one out a runner is on third and the batter grounds out to shortstop and the runner scores this is recorded as a rbi but is this a sacrifice as well?

No. The only way it is a sacrifice is if the ball is hit in the air and the runner has to tag-up to advance home. The batter is only given an rbi because he did not sacrifice his at bat to score the runner from 3rd.


Does the batter get a sacrifice if the runner on first tags and goes to second?

Yes as long as the runner advances Assuming you mean the runner tags up on a fly ball and advances to second, it is not scored as a sacrifice, but, simply as a fly out and the batter is charged with a time at bat. If the batter bunt a ground ball, the runner would not be required to "tag up" to advance and the batter would be credited with a sacrifice. If the batter is attempting a sacrifice bunt and pops up and the runner, tags up and somehow advances to second the batter is not credited with a sacrifice.


Is it scored a sacrifice if you score a runner from third on a ground out to second base?

No. A sacrifice is only recorded on a fly ball or a bunt. There is no such thing as a "sacrifice ground out".


What is a sacrifice fly?

It is a fly ball that's hit deep enough to the outfield so a base runner can successfully advance to the next base. The batter is not charged with an at bat, but credited with a sacrifice and does not effect his batting average..When a runner is on 3rd and scores on the play, an RBI is credited to the batter.


What happens if a ball hits the backstop and the on deck hitter picks it up as a runner is coming home?

Interference, runner scores


If a runner is hit with the ball by a miss throw by to the second base man is the runner out?

No. To force an out, the defensive player has to touch the runner with the ball or touch the runner with the glove while the ball is in the glove. A thrown ball touching a runner does not count.


Was it ever a sacrifice fly when a runner moved up a base on an out?

MLB Rule 10.08d is pretty clear: "Score a sacrifice fly when, before two are out, the batter hits a ball in flight handled by an outfielder or an infielder running in the outfield in fair or foul territory that (1) is caught, and a runner scores after the catch, or (2) is dropped, and a runner scores, if in the scorer's judgment the runner could have scored after the catch had the fly been caught. Thus, if a base runner advances to another base after tagging up but does not score, it is a fly out, but NOT a sacrifice fly.

People also asked