answersLogoWhite

0

Not sure exactly what you're asking here. Neither a batter nor a base runner may INTERFERE with a fielder attempting to field a ball. If there's contact without interference, nothing happens.

If a fielder is blocking the path of a base runner from reaching a base, the runner is definitely permitted to touch that fielder -- up to and including ramming his elbow into that fielder's neck.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

ViviVivi
Your ride-or-die bestie who's seen you through every high and low.
Chat with Vivi
ProfessorProfessor
I will give you the most educated answer.
Chat with Professor
BlakeBlake
As your older brother, I've been where you are—maybe not exactly, but close enough.
Chat with Blake
More answers

Not sure what you mean by "incidental" contact, but I'll presume you mean can there be contact between a fielder and a base runner, that results in neither interference nor obstruction.

The answer is yes.

MLB Rule 7.08(b) states that a base runner is out when "He intentionally interferes with a thrown ball; or hinders a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball." I suppose that physical contact that does not "hinder" the fielder would not result in the runner being called out.

The commentary on Rule 7.09(i) give a little more leeway on obstruction: "Obstruction” by a fielder attempting to field a ball should be called only in very flagrant and violent cases because the rules give him the right of way" So, again, if the contact was not "flagrant and violent," then no obstruction would be called.

User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago
User Avatar

Tie always goes to the baserunner.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

Yes. No problem.

However, a base runner can neither pass another runner nor may he assist the other runner in running the bases.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
User Avatar

ya....if they swing and hit the glove then its called catcher interference. the batter then gets to go to first base

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
User Avatar

no, it would be batter's interference

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
User Avatar

the +batter

User Avatar

Anonymous

5y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Who gets base when batter and fielder touch base at same time?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp