Yes, it is a balk. If the ball rolls into foul territory, however, it counts as a ball instead.
If the pitcher is in contact with the runner, the runner is safe if the pitcher drops the ball. If the pitcher is in contact with the rubber, it is a balk if he drops the ball.
If you mean a player on base? When a pitcher drops the ball it is a balk and base runners advance one base.
A balk in baseball is a pitcher's illegal movement that deceives the baserunners. The umpire calls a balk when they see the pitcher make a deceptive move while on the pitching rubber, causing the baserunners to advance. The umpire signals a balk by pointing towards the pitcher and calling "balk" aloud.
There is nothing in the rule book that says he can't. So it is not a bulk.
The pitcher had 1 balk this game.
It can't ... a balk can only be committed by a pitcher.
"After a Balk was called on the pitcher, the runners were allowed to advance one base."
Balk
No. If a catcher drops the ball, it's considered uncaught. It counts as though the catcher missed the ball entirely. If a pitcher drops the ball, they may be charged with a balk. Obviously, these situations are rare in MLB and all professional play.
No
In baseball, a balk is a penalty called on a pitcher for making an illegal movement or action while on the pitching mound. The umpire calls a balk when they determine that the pitcher has made a deceptive or illegal motion that violates the rules of the game.
There is only one call for a balk. When a pitcher is in the stretch and a runner or runners are on base, the pitcher must pause before throwing to homeplate. There can also be a balk called on the pitcher if he makes a move to throw out someone at first base, but doesn't actually throw the ball. (No fake throws to first allowed!) The last reason for a balk to be called is if a pitcher begins to move his front leg towards homeplate, but does not throw the ball to home. (Or simply pitch to the batter). A balk results in baserunners advancing one base.