answersLogoWhite

0

If you mean a player on base? When a pitcher drops the ball it is a balk and base runners advance one base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

What else can I help you with?

Related Questions

Can balls drop?

No. If a catcher drops the ball, it's considered uncaught. It counts as though the catcher missed the ball entirely. If a pitcher drops the ball, they may be charged with a balk. Obviously, these situations are rare in MLB and all professional play.


Pitcher drops the ball during a delivery?

If a pitcher drops the ball during their delivery, the play is typically ruled as a "dead ball." The pitch is not counted, and the batter is usually given another chance to face a legal pitch. The pitcher may be assessed for a potential violation or loss of focus, but the incident itself does not incur penalties beyond stopping the game momentarily. The game resumes with the pitcher reattempting the delivery.


Can a batter advance to second base on a walk if the pitcher is not on the mound?

Yes the ball is still in play you could run around the bases if you really wanted.


Whats is a dead ball in baseball?

When the ball is thrown and it hits the ground it's dead. Or if the runner loses the ball after his knee is down the ball is dead. And in cases where flags are thrown the ball and the play is dead.


Is the play dead if the ball hits the batter in fair territory. Can runners advance?

Yes the ball is dead, and no the runners cannot advance.


Can the runner in baseball advance after he is hit by a thrown ball and it goes out of bounds?

One answer:No - the runners may not advance beyond where they were - or more specifically, where they were about to go - at the time. A batted ball that hits a runner is a "dead ball."Another answer:If, however, the batted ball first touched a defensive player or umpire prior to being touched by the runner, the runner is not out and the ball is live. If the umpire calls interference on the runner, the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and all runners return to the base they last occupied at the beginning of the play (not to the base they were about to go to at the time).


What player is not needed to play T-ball but is needed to play baseball?

Pitcher


What happens if a hit ball hits the umpire standing behind the pitcher?

The ball is in play like any other batted ball and is considered fair whether or not it ricochets into foul territory after hitting the pitcher. If the ball hits the pitcher on the fly and is caught by a fielder before it touches the ground, the batter is out. If a ground ball touches a pitcher and another fielder grabs it and throws the batter out at first base, the pitcher is given an assist on the putout.


Does the play stop when a live ball is returned to the pitcher's glove regardless of whether the pitcher is on or off the mound in softball?

The Play is over when the umpire calls time. Does not matter where the ball is. the Umpire has to determine if the play if over.


In fast pitch softball if a passed ball carries out of play how many bases would a runner be allowed to advance?

If the ball is touched by a defensive player and then travels out of play, and runners would be allowed to advance 2 bases. They would advance without risk to be thrown out. When a ball travels out of play a dead ball will be called and the correct amounts of bases will be awarded by the home plate umpire.


Can he advance after he is hit by a thrown ball if it goes out of bounds?

NO... anyball landing foul is a foul ball and is a dead ball ...Clarification:the way i read this question is "if a thrown ball hits a runner and goes out of play can the runner advance?" -- If this is the question you are asking, then, yes, a runner can advance on a thrown ball that goes out of play. Runner will be allowed to advance 1 base after the ball goes out of play. The only time this wouldn't be the case is if the runner was running to 1st and the ball hits him and it is deemed interference, he would then be called out.The question is a bit unclear, so it really depends on what you are asking


What happens if a U12 goalkeeper controls the ball then drops it and an opponent kicks a goal?

In youth soccer, if a U12 goalkeeper controls the ball and then drops it, the play continues as long as the ball is still in play. If an opponent kicks the ball into the goal after the goalkeeper drops it, the goal is valid. The goalkeeper's prior control of the ball does not negate the opponent's right to play the ball once it is dropped. However, the specific rules can vary by league, so it's always best to consult the league's regulations for any nuances.