answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Only if it is on a third strike. That would be considered a foul tip and, by official rule, is different from a foul ball. A foul tip is when the catcher catches a ball that is 'tipped' by the batter and the ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. If the catcher drops the ball it is considered a foul ball and not a foul tip.

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

No, The ball must be caught "in flight". According to Official Baseball Rules: Rule 2.0 Definition of TermsA CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it; providing he does not use his cap, protector, pocket or any other part of his uniform in getting possession.IN FLIGHT describes a batted, thrown, or pitched ball which has not yet touched the ground or some object other than a fielder.Rule 10.05 Base Hits(a) The official scorer shall credit a batter with a base hit when:(1) the batter reaches first base (or any succeeding base) safely on a fair ball that settles on the ground, that touches a fence before being touched by a fielder orthat clears a fence;All bold emphasis is mine.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

Rules 6.08(d) and 7.08(f) say that if a fair batted ball hits a runner in fair territory before touching or passing an infielder, then the runner is out for interference. The ball is dead, and all runners must return to the base last occupied, unless forced by the batter who is awarded 1B. As soon as the ball hits the runner, it is dead, so it doesn't matter what happens...caught or not caught...after that.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

no, but the base runner is out if he is struck by a BATTED ball (but he isn't out if he touches a ball thrown by a fielder)

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

Depends. If the ball bounces of a defensive player, and is caught, the batter is out. If it hits a runner, the ball is dead and the runner is out but the hitter is awarded first base.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is the batter out if the ball bounces off another player and it is caught before hitting the ground?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is a batsman out if the ball bounces twice before hitting the wickets?

Yes, if the ball bounces more than twice it is a no ball but if it bounces twice it is legal. Although this is a very unlikely situation.


What is a bankshot kill on black ops?

A bank shot is a where you throw a Tomahawk and it bounces off a surface (or multiple surfaces) before hitting an enemy.


The Pitcher throws towards home plate. the ball bounces in the dirt before home plate and it hits the batter is it a dead ball or hit batter?

It is a dead ball and the batter is awarded first base and is ruled a hit by pitch


What's the difference between a rally and a volley?

A rally is an exchange of shots between players, while a volley is a type of shot which involves hitting the ball before it bounces on the ground.


What is the official scoring for the batter if he is hit in fair territory by his own batted ball?

That batter would be called out. If the ball goes directly from his bat to hitting the batter when they are not in the batters box, the batter is out. If a defensive player deflects the ball before it touches the batter then play continues as normal.


What is a unassisted ground out in baseball?

In baseball, a ground out is an out in which a batter hits a ball on the ground and one of the Infielders catches it before it hits the ground and a ground out can also be an instance of a batter hitting a ball in which an Infielder fields a baseball and then throws to another Infielder in order to record an out as long as the batted baseball was hit on the ground.


If a ball bounces before it crosses the plate and hits a batter is that a walk?

If the ball lands in the dirt and the batter swings at it, I believe that is a strike, even if he hits it into fair territory. This is another one that may have to be improved by somebody else if I'm wrong, but I don't think I am on this one.


What is an infield bounce called?

An infield bounce is also known as a ground ball in baseball. It is a ball hit by a batter that bounces on the infield before being fielded by a defensive player.


What does a bounce pass mean?

A bounce pass is when you pass the ball to another person on your team and it bounces at least once before they catch it.


After hitting a fly ball the batter assuming it will be caught for an out jogs toward and almost to the dugout the outfielder drops the ball and the batter runs to first Is he safe?

if the ball doesnt get to the first baseman before the batter does than yes, the batter would be safe and then benched(hence jimmy rollins)


Is the batter out if he touches someone before he reaches first base after hitting the ball or being forced to first on a walk?

After a walk, no. After hitting the ball, no, unless when he "touches" someone he is interfering with a play on a batted ball, in which case he could be called out for interference.


What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before the batter hits it?

The answer is listed under 2.00 - "Definitions of Terms" official Baseball rules. It states that: If a pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball". If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight. Yes. MLB Rule 6.08(b) makes no distinction as to whether the ball does or does not hit the ground prior to hitting the batter. MLB Rule 6.08(b) is below: " He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball; If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched. APPROVED RULING: When the batter is touched by a pitched ball which does not entitle him to first base, the ball is dead and no runner may advance. "