Best Answer

Yes, if the ball bounces more than twice it is a no ball but if it bounces twice it is legal. Although this is a very unlikely situation.

User Avatar

Wiki User

2014-08-24 22:42:51
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is a batsman out if the ball bounces twice before hitting the wickets?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Continue Learning about Movies & Television

How do you play Cricket?

Ok, it has two teams, you play on an oval field which has a rectangular pitch, you play in the middle of it, the pitch is 22 yards in length, each team has 11 players, and generally 1 sub player, at the start of the game, the captain from each team goes out to the middle with the umpires. And you toss a coin and whoever wins the toss has a choice to bat or field first. Batting: when batting you have two batsman in centre at a time* The batsman are your openers, then you have between 5 and 7 middle order batmen, and then to follow between 2 and 4 lower order batsman, who are generally when you are fielding, your bowlers. Your objective when batting is to score as many runs as you can in the allotted number of overs, and to lose as few wickets as possible. Fielding: the fielding side has all 11 players out in the centre, the fielding side consists of a wicket keeper, a bowler and 9 fielders. A bowler's objective is to have as few runs scored off his over as possible and to try and take wickets. The fielder's objective is when the batsman hits the ball, to stop runs from actually being scored by stopping the ball. Runs: Runs can be scored in singles, twos, threes, fours and sixes, fours and sixes are called boundaries, this is when the batsman hits the ball and it goes over the boundary rope (the outer marking of the field). A four is a boundary along the ground - having bounced, a six is when it goes over the boundary rope without touching the ground. There are other types of runs, generally called extras, they consist of wides, leg byes, byes, no balls. These are generally contributed when the bowler or fielder make a mistake. Wickets: There are a numbers of ways of getting out while batting: * You can be bowled - when bowler bowls ball and it hits your wickets. * You can be caught - bowler bowls ball, you hit it, and a fielder, wicket keeper or bowler catches the ball before it bounces. * LBW - Leg Before Wicket - ball hits leg while standing in front of wicket. See: * Run-out - The ball is returned to the stumps and the bails are dislodged (with the ball) from the stumps before the running batsman makes his ground. * Stumped - The batsman, when trying to hit a ball bowled at him, leaves his ground and the wicket-keeper succeeds in dislodging the bails from the stumps before the batsman can remake his ground.

What distance did the Titanic travel before hitting an iceberg?

1000 miles

How long did the titanic sail before hitting the iceberg?

Approximately four days.

Compare and contrast sleet and hail?

Sleet is snow that melts in the sky and re-freezes before hitting the ground as ice pellets and Freezing rain is snow that melts into water and doesn't re-freeze before hitting the ground...but the ground temperature is below 32 degrees, so the rain will freeze on contact causing a glaze of ice.

Where is the highest waterfall in the world?

The Highest waterfall is Angel Falls, in Venezuela, South America. Here,water from the River Carrao plunges over a sheer cliff for 807 metres in a single drop before hitting a rocky outcrop. If then tumbles a further 172 metres before hitting the base,giving a total drop of 979 metres-more than three times the height of te Eiffel Tower! By:Ezra L. Agaldang

Related questions

What do you call hitting the ball before it bounces in tennis?

A 'volley'.

Does the ball have to bounce before being hit?

No, that would be perfectly legal. Hitting the ball before it bounces is called a volley.

If ball hits batsman on the line of leg stump batsnan out or not?

The batsman would be outThe batsman couldbe out.You're asking a question about a possible Leg Before Wicket(LBW) dismissal, and there are multiple factors involved in such a decision. Did the ball bounce off the pitch before hitting the batsman (if it doesn't, even if it hits the batsman in line, it must be treated as if it impacts the batsman outside the line of off stump, and cannot be ruled an LBW unless the batsman does not offer a shot). Furthermore, the path of the ball must be shown to be able to continue on and hit the wicket had the batsman not been there.

How many wickets are taken before a team is dismissed?

10 wickets

What is a bankshot kill on black ops?

A bank shot is a where you throw a Tomahawk and it bounces off a surface (or multiple surfaces) before hitting an enemy.

What does ibw mean in cricket?

Leg before wicket-when your leg covers the wicket when the ball hat hit the leg. Only taken into concideration when the batsman is not playing a shot and when the ball has pitched in line with the wickets.

Does cricket ball have to bounce when bowled?

The ball doesn't have to bounce, but if it passes the batsman above the waist before it bounces then it will be a no-ball. If it hits the ground, then bounces over head height, it will be allowed once per over. any more head height bouncers will be classed as wides.

Is the batter out if the ball bounces off another player and it is caught before hitting the ground?

Depends. If the ball bounces of a defensive player, and is caught, the batter is out. If it hits a runner, the ball is dead and the runner is out but the hitter is awarded first base.

What's the difference between a rally and a volley?

A rally is an exchange of shots between players, while a volley is a type of shot which involves hitting the ball before it bounces on the ground.

What is full form of lbw in cricket?

Leg before wickets

What does plum means in cricket?

If a batsman is clearly LBW and there is no doubt regarding the decision, then it is said that the batsman is 'plumb' leg before

Is it a no ball if both the foot of a fast bowler is behind the popping crease?

No, if the bowler bowls from the wrong place; or if he straightens his elbow during the delivery; or if the bowling is dangerous; or if the ball bounces more than twice or rolls along the ground before reaching the batsman; or if the fielders are standing in illegal places. A no ball adds one run to the batting team's score, in addition to any other runs which are scored off it, and the batsman can't be dismissed off a no ball except by being run out, or by handling the ball, hitting the ball twice, or obstructing the field.

People also asked