answersLogoWhite

0

After a walk, no.

After hitting the ball, no, unless when he "touches" someone he is interfering with a play on a batted ball, in which case he could be called out for interference.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

What else can I help you with?

Related Questions

Where is the force out with no runners on base?

In baseball, a force out can occur when there are no runners on base if a fielder touches the base before the batter-runner reaches it.


How do you stump someone out in rounders?

To stump someone out in rounders, the fielder must have the ball in their hand and touch the wicket before the batter reaches the crease. The batter typically attempts to run towards the next base after hitting the ball, and if the fielder successfully hits the wicket with the ball while the batter is out of the crease, the batter is out. It's crucial for the fielder to act quickly and accurately to execute this play effectively.


What is the official scoring for the batter if he is hit in fair territory by his own batted ball?

That batter would be called out. If the ball goes directly from his bat to hitting the batter when they are not in the batters box, the batter is out. If a defensive player deflects the ball before it touches the batter then play continues as normal.


What does the term home run mean?

Ball is hit over the outfield fence, or batter runs through the bases without an error by the defensive team and reaches home safely.


What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before the batter hits it?

The answer is listed under 2.00 - "Definitions of Terms" official Baseball rules. It states that: If a pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball". If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight. Yes. MLB Rule 6.08(b) makes no distinction as to whether the ball does or does not hit the ground prior to hitting the batter. MLB Rule 6.08(b) is below: " He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball; If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched. APPROVED RULING: When the batter is touched by a pitched ball which does not entitle him to first base, the ball is dead and no runner may advance. "


Does the batter get an RBI if he reaches on an error?

yes if a run crosses at all it is a RBI for someone This is not always true. For instance, no RBI is awarded if the batter hits into a double play, even though a run crosses.


How many rbi does a batter get for hitting 1 grandslam?

4


When a batter is hitting foul after foul after foul. Is the batter doing this on purpose to work the pitcher?

A Baseball player hitting foul after foul is done more so to stay alive (not strike out) then to work the pitcher ... You have to keep in mind that the batter him self is using up energy to hit the ball foul ... The batter would rather get a hit then repetitively hitting the ball foul ...


What is the ruling for ASA softball on a pitched ball that hits the black part of the plate?

According to the rule book, the umpire will declare the pitch a strike if the ball touches the batter as the batter strikes at the ball, or if the ball touches the batter while the ball is in the strike zone.


What happens if a hit ball hits the umpire standing behind the pitcher?

The ball is in play like any other batted ball and is considered fair whether or not it ricochets into foul territory after hitting the pitcher. If the ball hits the pitcher on the fly and is caught by a fielder before it touches the ground, the batter is out. If a ground ball touches a pitcher and another fielder grabs it and throws the batter out at first base, the pitcher is given an assist on the putout.


Every time a batter reaches first base the next batter hits a double Every time a batter hits a double the runner on first scores Jon reaches first base What can you deduce about Jon?

That Jon will score when the next batter hits a double.


If a batter reaches base via a bunt is it counted as a hit?

It is.