answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

I was listening to a Tribe (Indians) game the other day, and that very thing happened. Apparently they awarded the batter a hit (or that might have been called ball 4, I'm not entirely sure which, but I THINK it was a hit. It's definitely not a strike.

Rule 10:13(f) When an umpire awards the batter or any runner one or more bases because of interference or obstruction, charge the fielder who committed the interference or obstruction with one error, no matter how many bases the batter, or runner or runners, may advance

In a 'catcher interference' call, the batter is awarded first base, and it is not an official 'at-bat', thus not counting in the batter's total 'at-bats' for the game.

On "catcher interference", the batter is awarded first base, no official at-bat is charged (as it is notated in the box score as "'Joe Blow' awarded first base on catcher interference) and the catcher is charged an error.

User Avatar

Wiki User

9y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

No. Nor is it a "time at bat", just like a base on balls, a sacrifice hit, or a sacrifice fly.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is catcher interference scored a hit for the batter?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What is catcher interferance?

Catcher's Interference is an Umpire's call due to the Catcher making some type of contact with either the batter or his bat during a pitch or does other actions to interfere with a batter's ability to hit the oncoming pitched ball however an Umpire can only call Catcher's Interference as long as the batter is in a legal position while in the batter's box and in the event of Catcher's Interference being called the batter is awarded first base automatically and the runners advanced only if forced to.


What is batters interference at home plate when catcher is throwing down to 3rd base?

Batter's interference is when the batter interferes with the catcher's ability to throw and catch a ball that is in play. An example of this is if the batter were to obstruct the catcher when a teammate is stealing a base, resulting in the catcher's inability to throw out the runner.


There are 7 ways a baseball player can get to first base with out getting a hit what are they?

walk, error, fielders choice, player interfeerence, dropped 3rd strike, pinch runner and hit by pitch 1. Base on Balls 2. Intentional Base on Balls (scored separately to 1) 3. Hit by Pitch 4. Error 5. Fielder's Choice 6. Passed Ball 7. Wild Pitch Pinch Runner is NOT a way of scoring a REACH of 1st base. Runner Interference (if the batter himself is not out) is scored as a base hit. Catcher Interference is scored as an error. Fielder Obstruction is scored as an error. Any scenario you can think of will be scored as one of the above 7, or a base hit. (I am only referring to how the reach of first base is scored)


What is the ruling when the pitched ball is hit then hits the catcher's mitt and falls to the ground?

if the cathcer is too close, a cather interference, if the batter is too far back, a batter interference


What is a base runners successful advance from one base to the next on his own?

strikers zone


What are the ways to get on first?

Hit, walk, hit by pitch, fielding error, catcher interferrence. 1. Walk 2. Hit 3. Hit by pitch 4. Strike out and catcher misses the ball allowing batter to reach 1st base. 5. Reached on Error 6. Fielder's choice 7. Interference by catcher or other fielder


What are the 7 ways to get to first?

1. Walk 2. Hit 3. Hit by pitch 4. Strike out and catcher misses the ball allowing batter to reach 1st base. 5. Reached on Error 6. Fielder's choice 7. Interference by catcher or other fielder


What happens if you swing a baseball bat and accidentally hit the catcher?

If you caught a baseball bat, I imagine it'd be just like catching a baseball, you'd get to keep it as a souvenir.


What would the scorebook of a batted ball hitting the batter be?

HBP by first base...Another answer: HBP (Hit By Pitch) would only apply to a pitched ball, not a batted ball.If a batted ball hits the batter while the ball is in foul territory, it is simply a foul ball. If a batted ball hits the batter while the ball is in fair territory, it would be scored as an out by interference with the catcher being credited with the putout.


When does an at bat not count?

Hit by the pitch, sacrifice, base on balls and I believe catcher's interference


Is it catcher interference if the batter fouls the ball and then hits the catchers glove on the follow through of the swing?

Yes, interference will be called if the umpire judges the catcher hindered the batter. If the ball is hit and the batter runner successfully reaches first and runners forced to advance or were stealing a base advanced the interference is ignored. If the batter runner is thrown out the manager has the option to accept the outcome of the play or accept the interference call placing the batter runner on first. If other runners are on base the manager's choice will affect them too. Accepting an interference call would require non-forced runners to return to their base. Consider a runner on third with no or one out when interference occurs. The batter runner is thrown out while the runner on third scores. Accepting the interference would require the runner scoring from third to return to third.


Ways a batter can get on base?

get walked, get hit, hit the ball, catcher drop third stirke, catcher interferes with swing, and fieldrs choice