answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

yes

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-06-24 03:51:28
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a batted popup hits an umpire in unfair territory and the catcher makes the catch off the umpire and before the ball hits the ground is the batter out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

If there is no strikes and a batter hits the ball not in the air in the faul taritory and the catcher catches is it a out?

If the batted ball is on the ground and touched by a defensive player while the ball is in foul territory, before passing 1B or 3B, then it is foul, and the batter is not out. But if the batted ball is hit in the air, a pop up, and the catcher catches it while in foul territory, the batter is out.


What is the official scoring for the batter if he is hit in fair territory by his own batted ball?

That batter would be called out. If the ball goes directly from his bat to hitting the batter when they are not in the batters box, the batter is out. If a defensive player deflects the ball before it touches the batter then play continues as normal.


How is it scored when the batter strikes out but the catcher drops the ball and the batter advances to first?

In the event of a batter striking out but the Catcher dropping the ball and the batter advancing to first base, it will be ruled as a strike out however it will also be ruled as a passed ball for allowing the batter to reach base. Generally speaking, in most cases the catcher will throw the ball to first base before the batter gets there. In that situation, the put out is given to the first baseman & the catcher receives an assist.


What if the catcher touches a batted ball that hits the plate?

Home plate is considered just as much "fair territory" as any other part of the playing field. If a batted ball comes to rest on home plate without being touched by any player, it is a fair ball. If a catcher grabs the ball, when the only part of the field the ball has touched is home plate, the ball is fair -- just as if it had bounced only within the chalk lines. Thus, if a batter hits the ball downward onto the plate, and the ball then bounces into the air, and the catcher grabs the ball in the air before it hits any other part of the field -- the ball is fair. Since, at this point, the batter must run to first base, the catcher could throw the runner out at first.


Is a batted ball fair or foul if it strikes a runner while he is on base?

It depends. If a runner is in foul territory, and is hit with a batted ball, before the batted ball reaches 1B or 3B, then it's foul. But if a batted ball hits a runner in fair territory, before passing an infielder other than the pitcher, time is called, the ball is dead, and the runner is declared out for interference. The batter is awarded 1B, but all other runners must return to the base they previously occupied.


If a batter tips the ball with two strikes and the catcher juggles it but still catches it before the ball hits the ground is the batter still out just as he would be if the catcher caught it cleanly?

All that matters is that the catcher caught the ball. Accordng to MLB Rule 6.05(b), a batter is out if: " A third strike is legally caught by the catcher; Rule 6.05(b) Comment: "Legally caught" means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground. It is not legal if the ball lodges in his clothing or paraphernalia; or if it touches the umpire and is caught by the catcher on the rebound. If a foul-tip first strikes the catcher's glove and then goes on through and is caught by both hands against his body or protector, before the ball touches the ground, it is a strike, and if third strike, batter is out. If smothered against his body or protector, it is a catch provided the ball struck the catcher's glove or hand first. "


If a ball bounces before it crosses the plate and is batted into fair territory is it a hit?

If the ball lands in the dirt and the batter swings at it, I believe that is a strike, even if he hits it into fair territory. This is another one that may have to be improved by somebody else if I'm wrong, but I don't think I am on this one.


Can a catcher balk in baseball?

The catcher can cause a balk, but the balk is charged to the pitcher. If, during an intentional walk, the catcher steps out of the catcher's box before the ball leaves the pitcher's hand, it is a balk. Or, if a runner is trying to score from 3rd base by a steal or squeeze play and the catcher touches the batter or the batter's bat, or steps on home plate or in front of home plate without the ball, it is a balk.


Is an out called if the batter nicks the ball and the catcher catches it before it hits the ground?

Only if it is on a third strike. That would be considered a foul tip and, by official rule, is different from a foul ball. A foul tip is when the catcher catches a ball that is 'tipped' by the batter and the ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. If the catcher drops the ball it is considered a foul ball and not a foul tip.


If the third strike is not caught in the air by the catcher what happens?

if that happens then the batter tries to make it to first base before the catcher throwes it to the first baseman and if he beat es the ball he is safe


Ball hits home and pops into the catcher's mitt before hitting the ground is it in play?

The typical and most often call is it will be ruled a foul ball due to the fact that the catcher is in foul territory.


Is a pitched ball that hits the ground before reaching the batter considered to be a dropped third strike?

In MLB, yes. MLB Rule 6.05(b) states that a batter is out when "A third strike is legally caught by the catcher" with the added comment "'Legally caught' means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground".


Umpire calls a batter out and catcher drops the ball and batter advances to first is he safe or out at first?

If he is called out on strikes and the catcher drops the ball, the batter may try to run to first base. In order to be put out, the catcher must throw the ball and get him out at first before he gets to the base. If the runner beats the throw, then the runner is safe. The pitcher is given credit for a strikeout. The catcher is given an error. This is how pitchers can have 4 strikeouts in an inning, which happened in MLB this week.


If a batter hits the pitchers mound and the ball bouces behind home plate is the play foul?

If a batted ball strikes the mound and then ricochets into foul territory, before reaching first base or third base, and it isn't touched by a fielder, then it is foul.


Is a batter out or safe if the fielder fields a fair ball but their momentum carries them into foul territory and then touches the orange base before the runner?

The batter would be out. The same rule applies as if it is a drop 3rd strike. The first baseman can claim the orange bag to give the catcher a clear throwing lane to the bag. The first baseman is claiming the orange bag as the safest bag to make the play on.


When the catcher catches a foul ball behind the plate is the batter out or does it matter what the count is?

If a batter swings, and the ball becomes a fly ball, and that ball is caught by ANY fielder (including the catcher) before it hits the ground; the batter is out no matter what the count happens to be or whether the ball is fair or foul. MLB Rule 2.0 states that "A FLY BALL is a batted ball that goes high in the air in flight." No specific rule exists on what "high in the air" means it's entirely the judgement of the umpire.If the batter swings and partly hits the ball but the ball "goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught" (again, MLB Rule 2.0), that is a foul tip. If the catcher does not catch the ball partly hit by the bat, the umpire can rule that the ball was a foul meaning the batter is NOT out if there are two strikes on him. The umpire can also rule that the ball was not hit by the bat meaning the swing was a strike and the batter is (again) out if there are two strikes on him.


If a batted ball hits fair and bounces over the foul line between home plate and 1st base and the 1st baseman catches the ball in foul territory before it hits the ground is it fair or foul?

If a batted ball lands in fair territory but then crosses the foul line BEFORE passing or touching first or third base, then it is a FOUL ball. If a batted ball lands in fair territory between first and third base, bounces in the air, and crosses into foul territory before passing first or third base, it is a foul ball, even if caught on the bounce in foul territory by the first or third baseman.


If a batter hits ball but it strikes pitcher plate before it touches the ground and stays on fair territory?

Fair ball.


Five ways to get on base without hitting the ball?

Depending on what it means to "get on base" (in the game of baseball) without hitting the ball, I suggest the following ways: 1. As a batter, get a "base on balls." 2. As a batter, be hit by a pitch. 3. As a batter, strike out, the catcher drops the third strike (or misses it completely), the batter runs to first base before the catcher (or other fielder) can retrieve the ball "throw him out" at first base. 4. As a batter, during a swung-on pitch the bat comes in contact with any part of the catcher or his/her equipment. This is most commonly the catcher's mitt. 5. Be substituted as a runner for another player who has already "gotten on base."


How many possible ways can a batter be put out?

fly out ground out (force out) tagged out strike out -called -swinging -dropped third strike, thrown out at first -foul bunt for strike 3 hit by the ball in fair territory before a fielder touches it double hitting out of the baseline obstructing a throw (ball hit to catcher, batter runs in fair territory and is hit by the throw) batting out of order using an illegal bat (cork, pine tar, etc) running the bases in the wrong order (also, missing a base)


Can a ball hit in foul territory be fair?

If the batter hits the ball and it hits any part of a field player or their glove before it falls or rolls into foul territory it is indeed a fair ball.


If a batter hits a ball and it initially rolls into foul territory but then rolls into fair territory before first base where it is fielded is it a fair ball?

Yes, it would be fair as long as it is fielded before first or third base or comes in contact with the base.


What happens if the pitcher gets hit by the batter's hit?

The ball is in play like any other batted ball and is considered fair whether or not it ricochets into foul territory after hitting the pitcher. If the ball hits the pitcher on the fly and is caught by a fielder before it touches the ground, the batter is out. If a ground ball touches a pitcher and another fielder grabs it and throws the batter out at first base, the pitcher is given an assist on the putout.


What is a sucide squeeze?

A suicide squeeze is when the runner on third breaks for home on the pitch, committing himself before the batter hits the ball. It is called "suicide" because if the batter misses the bunt and the catcher catches it cleanly, the runner will likely be out.


What happens when strike three goes by and you swung and missed and the catcher drops it?

This play is referred to as "redeye". If a batter misses (or does not swing) at the 3rd strike, and the catcher drops it, the runner must run to first before the catcher throws the dropped pitch to first. If the runner is beaten by the throw, it is simply a strikeout in the books. If the runner beats out the throw, it still goes as a strikeout, but his advance to first will be listed as an error by either the pitcher or the catcher (depending on how bad the pitch was, and the reason it was not caught). In Little League (60 foot basepaths) batter is out on strike three no matter what the catcher does.