answersLogoWhite

0

In Basketball the ball on a foul shot the ball must hit the rim or another player before the man throwing the ball can touch it. That is the Wilt Chamberlain rule. He would throw the ball against the backboard, catch it, and throw it in for 2 points. That is not permitted any more.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

BlakeBlake
As your older brother, I've been where you are—maybe not exactly, but close enough.
Chat with Blake
ProfessorProfessor
I will give you the most educated answer.
Chat with Professor
DevinDevin
I've poured enough drinks to know that people don't always want advice—they just want to talk.
Chat with Devin
More answers

Yes in the NBA when shooting free throws if you miss you must at least hit the rim. In the occasions one misses and it doesn't at least hit the rim the opposing team automatically gets possession of the ball.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

yes. if a missed free throw does not hit the rim, its a dead ball and possession goes to the opposing team.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
User Avatar

Yes, in a sense. If a bad foul shot misses the rim, the other team gets the ball - there is no chance for a rebound. ( A good shot may touch nothing but net and that is fine. )

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
User Avatar

ball must hit rim

User Avatar

Wiki User

17y ago
User Avatar

Yes it is when on the second shot

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

yes

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does a foul shot have to touch the rim?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp