answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

MLB Rule 2.00 states:

A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove

Thus, if the ball is held "securely and firmly" in your glove when you touch the base with ANY part of your body -- even your hand or the bottom of your foot -- that would be considered a "tag."

Rule 7.08(e) states:

Any runner is out when --

...

(e) He fails to reach the next base before a fielder tags him or the base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner.

Thus, if a fielder tags the base the runner must advance to, prior to the runner reaching that base, that runner is out. And touching a base with your hand while holding the ball in your glove would be considered a tag of the base.

Note, however, that tagging a player is different, as stated in Rule 2.00 :

A TAG is the action of a fielder in ... touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove.

Thus, although you can tag a BASE with the hand that does not hold the ball, you can only tag a RUNNER with the hand (or glove) that is holding the ball.

User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can you tag the base with your bare hand with the ball in your glove hand?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can you tag the base with your bare hand with the ball in your glove?

The official rules state that a fielder need only hold a ball in his hand and touch a base. If the runner is forced to that base and the fielder touches the base while he is holding the ball, he is out. It does not say he has to step on the base. It just says he has to touch it. The runner, on the other hand, must be tagged with the hand that holds the ball.


Can you hold the ball in bare hand and touch base with ball for an out?

Yes.


If the runner is tagged out then the fielder drops the ball and the runner touches the base is he out?

I will assume you mean when a batter has hit a ground ball to an infielder and the throw to first pulls the first baseman off the bag. On any force play, and the above would be considered a force play since the batter is forced to run when (s)he hits the ball, the batter would be called out because it is only necessary to have full possession of the ball and touch the base before the runner does.


Batter hits ground ball to 2nd basemen 2nd basemen throws to 1st basemen The first basemen catches the ball with bare hand and tags the Runner with Glove before he reaches 1st base What is the call?

Runner on first is out. Runner on second is safe because he was tagged while standing on second base.


In baseball if a ball is hit to first base and the first baseman grabs the ball in one hand and then touches the base with his glove on the hand that does not hold the ball is the runner out?

YES! Because it is a FORCE out and not a TAGGED out.


How tall is a base ball glove?

The Base Gloves lenght is determined by the size of the hand and the position the player is playing on the field.


Do you field a baseball bare handed?

It is not recommended to field a baseball barehanded, as it can lead to injuries such as cuts, bruises, or fractures. It is best to use a glove when fielding a baseball to protect your hands and improve your grip on the ball.


How can you successfully get an un-forced base runner out?

You can tag that runner with a glove or hand holding the ball, while the runner is not standing on a base.


Is a runner out if the first baseman is in foul territory and has the ball in one hand and touches the base with and empty glove?

yes because he has the ball in his possession when he touches the base so it is like touching the base with his foot.


When you catch a softball your hand in a glove move in the same direction that the ball is moving analyze the motion of your hand and glove in the terms of momentum?

When you catch a softball, your hand and the glove move in the same direction that the ball is moving to cushion the impact and reduce the force on your hand. This action conserves momentum, as the momentum of the ball is transferred to your hand and glove system upon contact, leading to a decrease in the ball's momentum and an increase in the momentum of your hand and glove system.


In MLB baseball in the case of a force out if the positon player while in possession of the ball tags the base with his empty glove is the runner out?

Yes. The glove is considered an extension of the hand.


Do you have to catch a baseball with a baseball glove?

No, there is no point in a baseball glove. It's just companies trying to get you to spend money on something useless so they can profit off of it. You are actually supposed to catch the balls with your bare hand. ________________________________________________________________________ That is the dumbest thing I have ever heard. You buy a glove because it makes your hand 10 inches bigger in length and 6 inches wider in width (depending on the glove size.) Also, if you don't use a glove, your going to get some serious nerve damage in your hands. To the original person that asked the question., you don't necessarily need a glove, but if you like your hand where it is, and like the ability to touch and feel, I would use a glove. A lot of times you do see a player bare-hand a ground ball, and if you're Kevin Mitchell, catch a fly ball bare-handed. I was being facetious. Of course you need a glove to catch baseballs with. That was just a stupid question.