answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

YES! Because it is a FORCE out and not a TAGGED out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-19 14:13:15
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: In baseball if a ball is hit to first base and the first baseman grabs the ball in one hand and then touches the base with his glove on the hand that does not hold the ball is the runner out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Runner hits the ball and takes off to first and the first baseman grabs the ball and attempts to tag the runner but the runner takes a step back to home plate. Is the runner considered out?

No the runner is not out unless the first baseman tags him, the first baseman touches the bag before the runner there, or the runner steps out of the baseline. The runner could go back and forth on the base path for as long as he can stay safe. So simply, no the runner is not out yet.


Man at first ground ball first baseman tags first runner does not advance to second stays on first is this a double play?

If the runner remains standing on the bag when the 1st baseman touches the bag and the 1st baseman does not tag the runner prior to touching the bag, then the runner is safe and you have no double play. Answer To clarify, once the Batter becomes a batter-runner, the runner at first loses his right to occupy first base and is forced to advance. If he is tagged while standing on the base, he is out. If the first baseman then steps on first base the Batter-runner is also out -- Double Play. BUT, if the first baseman first steps on the base the batter-runner is out and the force is removed. If the runner standing on first base is now tagged he is safe.


Can you toss your glove with the baseball in it to a first baseman and the runner be out?

lol and yes if you he has the ball making this wacky play the runner is out


Can a first baseman be called for a balk?

Yes if he there is a runner on first and the first baseman has his foot is across foul line .


Is a runner out if the first baseman is in foul territory and has the ball in one hand and touches the base with and empty glove?

yes because he has the ball in his possession when he touches the base so it is like touching the base with his foot.


When there is a runner on first - the batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman who steps on first and then tags the runner who remains on first - Who is out?

If the first baseman tags first base, the runner originally on first is therefore not forced to second base and he is safe at first.


Baseball runner on first base fly ball is caught in field of play by first baseman but first baseman then falls out of field of play how many bases does runner on first advance one or two bases?

There is no free base or "advancing" by rule based on this play. Runner tries to advance at his or her own discretion if they take up.


Can a first basemen interfere with a runner if play is at first base?

Yes a first baseman can interfere with a runner if the play is at first base


When there is a runner on first and the batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman should the first baseman throw the ball to second?

If the first baseman has time they should tag the runner. If the runner is already too far they should throw it. If the first baseman is close to first, they should step on first and then throw the ball to the shortstop at second. Note: Tagging first base first takes away the force out at second and the runner must then be tagged. They are also allowed to return to first base.


Can a runner knock over the first baseman on his way to first?

only if he is in your baseline


What is the Official Baseball rule when there is a tie between the runner and first baseman at first base?

There is no official rule covering a tie between a batter/runner and a thrown ball to first. Baseball rules do not recognize a tie between a base runner and a force out at any base. The umpire must make the judgment call on which arrived first. However, an umpire is taught to watch the runner and see when his foot touches the bag, and he is supposed to listen for the ball to pop the glove of whoever is playing on or covering first. So if it is a tie then this is where the runner will get the benefit of the doubt.


What is a putout in baseball?

A putout is the term for getting a batter or runner out. An unassisted put out happens when only one fielder is involved, such as when an outfielder catches a fly ball, or the first baseman grabs a ground ball and touches the bag. An example of an assisted put out would be a ground ball that's fielded by an infielder who throws the ball to the first baseman.


What is Putout in baseball?

A putout is the term for getting a batter or runner out. An unassisted put out happens when only one fielder is involved, such as when an outfielder catches a fly ball, or the first baseman grabs a ground ball and touches the bag. An example of an assisted put out would be a ground ball that's fielded by an infielder who throws the ball to the first baseman.


Who covers first on a bunt with a runner on first and a right handed batter?

second baseman


Is the batter turned runner out for going into the dugout before reaching first base thinking the play had been madebut first baseman was not on the bag?

in the game of baseball is the batter turned runner automatically out for going into the dugout thinking the play would be made, but the first baseman was never on the bag when the throw was received?


What is a Baseball Assist?

A baseball 'assist' is given when a fielder 'assists' in the making of an 'out' of an opposing player. For example, a ground ball is hit to the third baseman who throws the ball to the first baseman standing on first base who makes the 'out' by touching first base before the runner who hit the ball does. The first baseman is credited with a 'put out' and the third basemen is credited with an 'assist.'


If the first baseman tags a runner instead of the base is it a force out?

yes it is a force out


Can a second baseman go in the base line of second when runner is coming from first?

if he interferes with the runner that would be called obstruction


Heres the situation runner on 1st and 2nd with no outs a ground ball is hit to the third baseman but the runner beat the third baseman to the bag and the hitter made it to first fielders choice?

first choice would probably be first base


Can a picture throw to the first baseman who is off the bag even with the base runner?

nahbro


Can the first baseman stand on first base while the runner is advancing to second on an extra base hit?

Yes, as long as he does not interfere with the base runner.


Can you slide into first base in little league baseball?

Don't know if it's illegal in Little League to slide into first base, but it certainly isn't necessary. The reason for sliding into a base is to try to keep the baseman from tagging the runner. Runners going to 2nd, 3rd, or homeplate must be tagged out unless it is a forced run, in which case the baseman just tags the base. Running to first base does not require a runner to slide since the runner doesn't have to be tagged at first. All the baseman has to do is tag the base.


What does a first baseman do in baseball?

catches the baseball that's thrown to first base


What is the first base-mans job in a softball game?

For defense the first baseman has to catch flyballs and field grounders sent in their direction. The first baseman also has to catch throws from other fielders to touch first base or the runner for the out. When the batter is bunting, the first baseman is expected to cover the space between the pitcher's mound and first base. The first baseman covers the first base bag in case the runner on first wants to steal. The first baseman usually bats for their team, but they do the same batting things as every other player


If the baseball hits the base first and then the runner is the runner out?

no