answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The catcher throws to thr pitcher or if he misses the ball he throws it first to get tjr batter out because if if the batter strikes out and the catcher misses the ball the runner can run.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-04-26 04:51:09
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Who does the catcher throw to after a strikeout?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is a pitcher or catcher credited with a putout on a strikeout?

The catcher gets the putout.


Does a strikeout count as a put out?

Yes, for the catcher


Is a catcher and pitcher get credited with a putout on a strikeout?

A strikeout is a pitching statistic. The pitcher is credited with a strikeout under his or her pitching stats. A putout is a fielding statistic for defense. The catcher is credited with the putout under his or her fielding stats.


Does a strikeout count as a put out in softball?

A putout is a fielding statistic. In the case of a strikeout, the putout is credited to the catcher.


Is the pitcher awarded a strikeout with catcher interference on strike three?

no


What does it mean when a catcher says tlsofig after a strikeout?

HE has Tourette syndrome


What happens when strike three goes by and you swung and missed and the catcher drops it?

This play is referred to as "redeye". If a batter misses (or does not swing) at the 3rd strike, and the catcher drops it, the runner must run to first before the catcher throws the dropped pitch to first. If the runner is beaten by the throw, it is simply a strikeout in the books. If the runner beats out the throw, it still goes as a strikeout, but his advance to first will be listed as an error by either the pitcher or the catcher (depending on how bad the pitch was, and the reason it was not caught). In Little League (60 foot basepaths) batter is out on strike three no matter what the catcher does.


How many ways can a player reach 1st without hitting the ball?

strikeout catcher's interference hbp BB IBB strikeout catcher's interference hbp BB IBB


Who was the catcher for Kerry Wood's twenty strikeout game?

Sandy Martinez


Why do catchers throw to third after a strikeout?

I have played Baseball my entire life, mainly as a catcher. This is simply a way to keep the energy of the game going. It is commonly called "round the horn", and the Catcher will throw to Third, Third to Second, and Second to Short, then back to the pitcher. It is a way to keep the infield peppy and active; sort of a very mild celebration for a strikeout. It is also done on a ground out, where the First baseman will throw to SS, SS to 2B, then 2B to 3B. You will rarely (if ever) see a throw around the horn if baserunners are on base. This is because of the high chance of a wild throw.


If catcher drops the ball can the batter run to first?

Only on a third strike with 1st base un-occupied. This does not apply to Little League. Note: he is entitled to TRY to run to first base. He can be thrown out by the catcher if the throw reaches the baseman before the runner. If he beats the throw, then he is safe. The pitcher is given credit for a strikeout. The catcher is given an error.


In softball who gets a putout for a strikeout?

The pitcher is credited with a strikeout. The catcher is credited with the putout, unless the batter-runner has to be retired at first base with a throw from the catcher. In that case, the catcher would get an assist and the base man covering first would get the putout.Source(s):Senior League Baseball World Series information director; Official Baseball Rules: 10.09(b)(1), 10.10(b)(1), 10.15(a)

People also asked