Yes. There is no obligation to use the DH in Baseball.
A somewhat confusing question.
A relief pitcher can be used AS the DH. However normal DH rules apply and that player could not pitch in the game.
A relief pitcher can pinch hit FOR the DH as well. That pitcher then becomes the DH and normal rules apply. I am pretty sure that a relief pitch that enters the game as a pitcher can not be inserted into the lineup for the DH but I could be wrong.
Of course you don't have to use the DH but you can't use a relief pitcher in your lineup unless he's playing a position in the field.
Yes. When you bring in the relief pitcher, you can at that time have him hit in place of the DH. You can also have him pinch-hit for the DH at a later point in the game. Note that in both cases, there is no longer a DH and all pitchers must hit. Baseball rule 6.10.
Chat with our AI personalities
The designated hitter cannot be used for any other player but the pitcher. Use of the DH is optional. The manager must designate a DH prior to the start of the game; failure to do so forfeits the right to use the DH, and the pitcher must then take his turn at bat.
The history of the designated hitter in the World Series: 1973-1975: DH was NOT used in the World Series. 1976-1985: DH was used in even numbered years and not used in odd numbered years. 1986-present: DH used in American League ballparks and not used in National League ballparks.
9, just like in the U.S. The Pacific League has the designated hitter rule so there are ten with the DH and pitcher (like in the American League). The Central League does not used the DH.
1 - Pitcher 2 - Catcher 3 - First Baseman 4 - Second Baseman 5 - Third Baseman 6 - Shortstop 7 - Left Fielder 8 - Center Fielder 9 - Right Fielder
Between 1973 (the first year of the DH) and 2009, only 1 Red Sox pitcher has hit a home run. That was Josh Beckett who hit home runs on May 20, 2005 off of Brett Myers of the Philadelphia Phillies and June 14, 2009 off of J.A. Happ of the Phillies.