answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

only the first two strikes and on the third if catcher does not catch the ball then player can run to first trying to beat a through

It sounds like what you are describing is a foul tip. MLB rule 2.00 defines a foul tip as follows:

" A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand. "

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-07-17 17:50:25
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Why is a batter not out if he barely makes contact with the ball and the catcher catches the ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

What is the difference between a catcher catching a foul tip and catching a fly ball?

A foul tip is considered to be when the batter swings and the bat barely touches, or tips, the ball. The ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. A fly ball is when the batter makes contact and the ball goes up into the air for a significant distance. If a catcher catches a foul tip with less than two strikes the play is simply considered a strike and not an out. But if the catcher catches a foul tip when the batter has two strikes, the batter is scored to have struckout.


What happens when a batter has two strikes and swings and tips the next pitch?

If the catcher catches the tip the batter is out. If the catcher does not catch the tip, it counts as a foul ball and the batter continues at bat.


Is the batter out if the catcher catches a tipped third strike?

Yes, this counts as a strike out.


If there is no strikes and a batter hits the ball not in the air in the faul taritory and the catcher catches is it a out?

If the batted ball is on the ground and touched by a defensive player while the ball is in foul territory, before passing 1B or 3B, then it is foul, and the batter is not out. But if the batted ball is hit in the air, a pop up, and the catcher catches it while in foul territory, the batter is out.


If a batter hit the ball and bounces off the home plate and the catcher catches it without touching the ground is it an out?

No, as soon as the batter is hit by the ball, the play is considered dead and the batter gets his base.


Can a catcher be fast?

It depends whether the catcher is agile or not. The catcher mainly stays in the same position and "catches" the balls that indicate the batter has a strike. If the catcher is not agile and doesn't do the workout the rest of the team does, he may not be as fast


Who catches the baseball thrown by the pitcher if the batter doesnt hit it?

In that case, the catcher is supposed to catch the ball , but sometimes they don't.


Is an out called if the batter nicks the ball and the catcher catches it before it hits the ground?

Only if it is on a third strike. That would be considered a foul tip and, by official rule, is different from a foul ball. A foul tip is when the catcher catches a ball that is 'tipped' by the batter and the ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. If the catcher drops the ball it is considered a foul ball and not a foul tip.


If the batter swings and misses the third strike but the ball hits the ground first and the catcher catches it cleanly is it still an out?

it is considered a dropped third strike. the batter must be tagged or thrown out, same as if the catcher had dropped the ball. -LM, umpire


Can the catcher touch the batter while throwing to 3RD base?

The catcher is allowed to touch the batter while throwing to any base. However, the batter must not move into the catcher's path. If the batter does and the catcher makes contact with the batter, it is called as Interference. If Interference is called during a steal attempt, the runner must go back to their original base.


What happens when the pitcher catches a ball from the batter?

the batter is out


What is a foul tip out?

it is when the batter tips the ball but the catcher catches it and it is called an out because it is the same thing as someone fouling the ball but a pop up but catching it.


Is hit batsman a wild pitch or error?

Neither -- a hit batsman is a pitch thrown that hits the batter, even if the catcher immediately catches the ball after that contact. A wild pitch is a pitch thrown so badly that the catcher is not able to catch it, but which does not hit the batter. An "error" in baseball terminology has nothing to with pitching -- it is a fielding mistake. A pitcher can commit an error, but only on a batted or thrown ball.


If the a line drive strikes the pitchers rubber and the catcher catches it is he out?

No he is not out. Hitting the rubber is like hitting the ground. He would have to throw out the batter, runner at first base.


What is a sucide squeeze?

A suicide squeeze is when the runner on third breaks for home on the pitch, committing himself before the batter hits the ball. It is called "suicide" because if the batter misses the bunt and the catcher catches it cleanly, the runner will likely be out.


Who is the person who behind the batter?

The catcher, and behind the catcher is the Umpire.


Is it catcher interference if the batter is in the box doing practice swings and makes contact with the catcher's glove?

if there was no pitch then no. if there was a pitch then yes.


If a catcher hits a batter with the ball while trying to throw a runner out at third is the runner out?

If the batter showed signs of trying to move out of the way to give the catcher a clear lane to throw then neither the batter or the runner it out. If the batter did not move at all to provide the catcher a throwing lane, then the batter is out, but the runner is safe.


If a player is the dead ball area and reaches into foul territory and catches the foul ball is the batter out?

A batter is out anytime a fielder catches a foul fly ball.


In fastpitch softball is it a dropped third strike if the pitch hits the dirt with a 2-2 count and the batter swings and misses and the catcher catches the ball off the dirt on the bounce?

ok this confuses me if they have 2 strikes on them and they pitch it and the catcher misses it they run and the catcher has to throw them out hope it helpes!


Is a tipped ball an out if the catcher catches it?

Only if it's the third strike. A ball tipped by the bat but caught by the catcher without hitting the ground is ALWAYS considered a strike, thus eliminating any controversy on whether the batter actually tipped the ball or not.


How is it scored when the batter strikes out but the catcher drops the ball and the batter advances to first?

In the event of a batter striking out but the Catcher dropping the ball and the batter advancing to first base, it will be ruled as a strike out however it will also be ruled as a passed ball for allowing the batter to reach base. Generally speaking, in most cases the catcher will throw the ball to first base before the batter gets there. In that situation, the put out is given to the first baseman & the catcher receives an assist.


Catcher interfers with batter and tags runner from third out ruling?

yea because while the batter interfer with the catcher the play is normaily stoped


Who does the catcher throw to after a strikeout?

The catcher throws to thr pitcher or if he misses the ball he throws it first to get tjr batter out because if if the batter strikes out and the catcher misses the ball the runner can run.


Has a catcher ever been hit by the batter?

Yes, this has happened enough to have a specific rule about it. If the bat strikes the catcher or his equipment (almost always his glove) while the batter is swinging, the umpire calls catcher interference and the batter takes first base.