answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If the catcher catches the tip the batter is out. If the catcher does not catch the tip, it counts as a foul ball and the batter continues at bat.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-06-06 03:23:39
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What happens when a batter has two strikes and swings and tips the next pitch?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

When the batter swings at a pitch and miss it?

It is a strike. 3 strikes and you're out.


When a batter swings at a pitch and misses is?

Baseball is a game of balls and strikes: the pitcher throws the ball, and the batter tries to hit it. If the batter swings at the ball and misses, that is called a strike. A batter gets three strikes (three efforts to swing at the ball) before being called "out."


What happens when a batter gets hit by a pitch?

the batter advances to first base


What happens when a popfly foul ball is dropped?

It is a foul ball and runners return to the base they occupied at the time of the pitch. If the batter has less than two strikes, it is a strike. If the batter has two strikes, it remains two strikes, unless the batter was bunting, in which case the batter is out.


If a batter swings at a pitch and the pitch hits the batter is it a strike?

Yes as a matter of fact it is. If the bat swings half way past home plate then its a strike.


What happens to the batter?

The "batter" becomes a "runner" if he is walked, hit by a pitch or puts the ball in play. He becomes dejected if he strikes out, fouls out or is ejected from the game.


What is it called when the batter swings at a pitch and misses it?

Something


What is the difference between balls and strikes?

A "strike" can be earned by a batter in one of a few ways. First, any time a batter swings at a ball and misses, regardless of the location of the pitch, a strike is earned. Second, a strike is earned when a foul ball is hit - unless the foul ball is hit with two strikes have already been earned. In this case, the pitch is simply a foul ball and is not counted as a strike. Finally, if a batter does not hit a ball that is delivered within the "strike zone," the pitch is a strike. The "strike zone" is a three-dimensional area with top of the zone halfway between the batter's shoulders and top of his uniform pants, the bottom of the zone is the hollow of his knee, the right and left boundaries are the edges of home plate. When a batter records three strikes, he has earned an out. A "ball" is any pitch that comes over home plate outside of the strike zone. The only exception to this rule is if the batter swings at such a pitch. In that case, it is automatically a strike, regardless of the position of the pitch. When a batter is delivered four "balls," he earns a "base on balls," a free pass to first base. Since the batter can walk to first, this is also known as a "walk."


What if pitcher hits batter?

If the pitcher hits the batter on a pitch then the batter is awarded first base. However if the batter swings at the ball and it hits her then it is a strike


If a batter steps on home plate to avoid being hit by a pitch is the pitch a strike?

If the pitch passes through the strike zone, or if the batter swings at the pitch and misses, it's a Strike. Otherwise it's a Ball. It has nothing to do with where the batter is standing.


In fastpitch softball is it a dropped third strike if the pitch hits the dirt with a 2-2 count and the batter swings and misses and the catcher catches the ball off the dirt on the bounce?

ok this confuses me if they have 2 strikes on them and they pitch it and the catcher misses it they run and the catcher has to throw them out hope it helpes!


If the batter swings and the ball hits his hand?

If the batter swings and the ball hits anywhere but the bat the pitch is called a strike. Even if it hits the person batting, while swinging, but if he is bunting and gets hit it is not a strike There is no rule that states that if a batter is attempting to bunt and a pitched ball hits him that the pitch is anything but a strike. In short, if a batter is hit during any type of swing, the pitch is ruled a strike.


What if batter swings and hits a bounced ball on the pitch and hits it fair?

Fair ball.


When does a strike in softball occur?

if the batter swings and misses or if the pitch is between the chest and kness


Is it catcher interference if the batter is in the box doing practice swings and makes contact with the catcher's glove?

if there was no pitch then no. if there was a pitch then yes.


When at bat is it a foul ball if the batter is hit by the pitch on the hands?

If the ball strikes the bat handle and then the hands it is a foul ball. If the ball strikes the batter on the hands he is awarded first base, provided the pitch is not in the strike zone and the batter has made an attempt to avoid the ball. A batter is not entitled to first base if he is hit with a pitch while attempting to hit the ball.


If the batter attempts to hit the ball but the pitch hits her does she get the base?

No. If the batter swings at the pitch and is struck by the pitch, it is called a strike. A batter may not take first base when struck by any pitch that is called a strike. This also includes those pitches that the batter does not swing at. If the batter leans over the plate and is struck by a pitch that the umpire calls a strike, the batter does not get to go to first base.


Can a pitch that lands on home plate be a strike?

If the batter swings or makes an attempt at a bunt then yes.


What happens if a batter gets hit by a pitch?

If a batter is hit by a pitch, that batter automatically advances to first base.


If pitch hits ground in fastpitch baseball then hits the batter does he go to first?

Yes, unless he swings at it.


If a batter swings a bat at a pitch and misses the ball but is hit by the ball in the process is the batter awarded first base or is it a strike due to the swing?

Its a strike


Softball what is two strikes and three balls?

If the pitch count is at 2 strikes and 3 balls that is a "full count" meaning the next pitch is the last for that batter. (For all you critics; this is because in softball, if the third strike is fouled out of play the batter is out)


If a ball bounces off the dirt and into the strike zone is it considered a strike or a ball?

A called strike cannot hit the ground and then go thru the strike zone. Baseball rule section 2.00 Definitions of Terms: A ball is a pitch which does not enter the strike zone in flight and is not struck at by the batter. If the pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball". If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter swings at such a pitch after two strikes, the ball cannot be caught, for the purposes of rule 6.05 (c) and 6.09 (b). If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight.


When does a batters turn start?

Stat-sheet wise, a batter's turn officially starts when the first pitch happens. However, there are a number of ways he could not get credit for the plate appearance. If he leaves the at-bat -- injured, ejected, or otherwise -- he does not get a plate appearance. The only exception is if he leaves with two strikes and the new batter strikes out, then the first batter is charged with a strike-out. (See rule 10.15b)


Can you hit a bounced pitch?

Yes, you can hit a bounced pitch the same way you can hit any other pitch considered a ball. It's the same as hitting a high pitch and has been done numerous times in the MLB.Also, the official answer can be found in the Baseball Rule Book under Section II: Definition of Terms:"A BALL is a pitch which does not enter the strike zone in flight and is not struck at by the batter. If the pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball." If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter swings at such a pitch after two strikes, the ball cannot be caught. If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight."