answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If the batted ball is on the ground and touched by a defensive player while the ball is in foul territory, before passing 1B or 3B, then it is foul, and the batter is not out. But if the batted ball is hit in the air, a pop up, and the catcher catches it while in foul territory, the batter is out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-12-02 22:46:37
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If there is no strikes and a batter hits the ball not in the air in the faul taritory and the catcher catches is it a out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What happens when a batter has two strikes and swings and tips the next pitch?

If the catcher catches the tip the batter is out. If the catcher does not catch the tip, it counts as a foul ball and the batter continues at bat.


What is the difference between a catcher catching a foul tip and catching a fly ball?

A foul tip is considered to be when the batter swings and the bat barely touches, or tips, the ball. The ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. A fly ball is when the batter makes contact and the ball goes up into the air for a significant distance. If a catcher catches a foul tip with less than two strikes the play is simply considered a strike and not an out. But if the catcher catches a foul tip when the batter has two strikes, the batter is scored to have struckout.


If the a line drive strikes the pitchers rubber and the catcher catches it is he out?

No he is not out. Hitting the rubber is like hitting the ground. He would have to throw out the batter, runner at first base.


What is the difference between a strike and a strike out?

In baseball and softball, a strike is a pitch that is swung at and missed by the batter. It goes through the batter's strike zone and the catcher catches it. A strikeout, however, is a result of three strikes. When someone strikes out, they have obtained three strikes without getting on base. They are considered out at that point.


Is the batter out if the catcher catches a tipped third strike?

Yes, this counts as a strike out.


If the count is two strikes and a foul tip is caught by the catcher is the batter out?

YES.


Who does the catcher throw to after a strikeout?

The catcher throws to thr pitcher or if he misses the ball he throws it first to get tjr batter out because if if the batter strikes out and the catcher misses the ball the runner can run.


In fastpitch softball is it a dropped third strike if the pitch hits the dirt with a 2-2 count and the batter swings and misses and the catcher catches the ball off the dirt on the bounce?

ok this confuses me if they have 2 strikes on them and they pitch it and the catcher misses it they run and the catcher has to throw them out hope it helpes!


When a runner is on 1st base and there are two strikes and 2 outs and the batter strikes out but the catcher drops the ball can the runner on 1st base run to 2nd base?

No. There are 3 outs. It makes no difference if the catcher catches or drops the ball. A hitter may attempt to take first base if he strikes out and the catcher drops the ball AND first base is not occupied. In this case, first base is already occupied the inning is over.


What are two ways that the batter can be out in baseball?

three strikes and fielder or outfielder catches ball without dropping it.


Does batter get RBI if runner scores from third on 3 strikes catcher drops ball?

Yes


Has a catcher ever been hit by the batter?

Yes, this has happened enough to have a specific rule about it. If the bat strikes the catcher or his equipment (almost always his glove) while the batter is swinging, the umpire calls catcher interference and the batter takes first base.


If bat hits glove during swing is it interference?

If the bat strikes the catcher's mitt, the rule is catcher's interference. The batter gains first.


Can a catcher be fast?

It depends whether the catcher is agile or not. The catcher mainly stays in the same position and "catches" the balls that indicate the batter has a strike. If the catcher is not agile and doesn't do the workout the rest of the team does, he may not be as fast


Is an out called if the batter nicks the ball and the catcher catches it before it hits the ground?

Only if it is on a third strike. That would be considered a foul tip and, by official rule, is different from a foul ball. A foul tip is when the catcher catches a ball that is 'tipped' by the batter and the ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. If the catcher drops the ball it is considered a foul ball and not a foul tip.


If a batter tips the ball with two strikes and the catcher juggles it but still catches it before the ball hits the ground is the batter still out just as he would be if the catcher caught it cleanly?

All that matters is that the catcher caught the ball. Accordng to MLB Rule 6.05(b), a batter is out if: " A third strike is legally caught by the catcher; Rule 6.05(b) Comment: "Legally caught" means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground. It is not legal if the ball lodges in his clothing or paraphernalia; or if it touches the umpire and is caught by the catcher on the rebound. If a foul-tip first strikes the catcher's glove and then goes on through and is caught by both hands against his body or protector, before the ball touches the ground, it is a strike, and if third strike, batter is out. If smothered against his body or protector, it is a catch provided the ball struck the catcher's glove or hand first. "


Who catches the baseball thrown by the pitcher if the batter doesnt hit it?

In that case, the catcher is supposed to catch the ball , but sometimes they don't.


If a batter strikes out but the catcher drops the ball and the batter makes his way safely to first base how is that play entered onto a scorecard?

e 2


Can you strike out by four foul balls?

The batter can foul as often as necessary, unless there are 2 strikes and the batter bunts foul. That becomes a third strike and the batter is out. Also if there are two strikes and the batter foul-tips the ball into the catcher's mitt, that's also strike 3 and the batter is out.


If a batter hits the ball with butt of bat and the ball goes into play is it live?

Yes. Any part of the bat is fair game. Sometimes, a pitcher will throw the ball up and behind the batter's head, and if the ball strikes the bat it counts as a foul ball - and if it pops into the air, and the catcher catches it, it is an out!


If there is a runner in first base and the batter strikes out swinging and the ball hits the ground pass the catcher is the batter automatically out?

With one out or no outs the batter is out. With two outs the batter may run to first.


If a batter hit the ball and bounces off the home plate and the catcher catches it without touching the ground is it an out?

No, as soon as the batter is hit by the ball, the play is considered dead and the batter gets his base.


If the batter swings and misses the third strike but the ball hits the ground first and the catcher catches it cleanly is it still an out?

it is considered a dropped third strike. the batter must be tagged or thrown out, same as if the catcher had dropped the ball. -LM, umpire


How is it scored when the batter strikes out but the catcher drops the ball and the batter advances to first?

In the event of a batter striking out but the Catcher dropping the ball and the batter advancing to first base, it will be ruled as a strike out however it will also be ruled as a passed ball for allowing the batter to reach base. Generally speaking, in most cases the catcher will throw the ball to first base before the batter gets there. In that situation, the put out is given to the first baseman & the catcher receives an assist.


What is a foul tip out?

it is when the batter tips the ball but the catcher catches it and it is called an out because it is the same thing as someone fouling the ball but a pop up but catching it.